Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Azul» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scoring rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Smith
United States
Sweeny
Texas
flag msg tools
I understand the scoring rules but what i don't get is, do you score the same tiles over and over each round? (round meaning each time you empty the bag)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Wise
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Every time you place a tile, you score it according to how many tiles it is adjacent to. You will score tiles that have been scored already each time you place a tile adjacent horizontally or vertically.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EXTRA AVOCADO! Sonderegger
United States
Folsom
CA
flag msg tools
designer
Shall I compare thee to a chevrolet?
badge
...the headlamps of your eyes will make them dream.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aspiringloser wrote:
Every time you place a tile, you score it according to how many tiles it is adjacent to. You will score tiles that have been scored already each time you place a tile adjacent horizontally or vertically.


This is incorrect. You score a tile when you place it, and it gets points depending on what's around it. Once it is down, it only scores for end of game bonuses.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kim Williams
United Kingdom
St Just
Cornwall
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hanibalicious wrote:
aspiringloser wrote:
Every time you place a tile, you score it according to how many tiles it is adjacent to. You will score tiles that have been scored already each time you place a tile adjacent horizontally or vertically.


This is incorrect. You score a tile when you place it, and it gets points depending on what's around it. Once it is down, it only scores for end of game bonuses.


Well I guess it's all how you look at it.

A tile only earns you points when it is freshly added, but the amount of points you gain will depend on previously laid tiles.

So if you add tiles in a vertical column on a round, first tile gets you one point, second tile earns you an additional 2 points and the third tile gets you three points, meaning you earnt 6 in total. In effect the first tile has contributed to your score three times, the second one twice and the third at the bottom of the column has contributed once.

So though you don't freshly evaluate points on previously laid tiles, they clearly are effecting the points you gain from a newly placed tile that was connected to it.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Wise
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hanibalicious wrote:
aspiringloser wrote:
Every time you place a tile, you score it according to how many tiles it is adjacent to. You will score tiles that have been scored already each time you place a tile adjacent horizontally or vertically.


This is incorrect. You score a tile when you place it, and it gets points depending on what's around it. Once it is down, it only scores for end of game bonuses.


How is this incorrect? You place a tile and score it according to what is horizontally and vertically adjacent. The next time you place a tile, tiles that are already on your board will score again if they're horizontally or vertically adjacent to the tile you just placed.
3 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan
United States
Longwood
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are both saying the same thing with different phraseology. One person sees it as one tile scoring a bunch of points based on adjacency, the other person sees it as multiple tiles scoring again based on the placement of a new tile.

Tomato/Tohmatoh
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Young
United States
Orange Park
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GoingTopShelf wrote:
You are both saying the same thing with different phraseology. One person sees it as one tile scoring a bunch of points based on adjacency, the other person sees it as multiple tiles scoring again based on the placement of a new tile.

Tomato/Tohmatoh


Agreed variations on a theme - However, this is the joy of language. Arriving at the same destination but taking two different paths to get there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Wise
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
GoingTopShelf wrote:
You are both saying the same thing with different phraseology. One person sees it as one tile scoring a bunch of points based on adjacency, the other person sees it as multiple tiles scoring again based on the placement of a new tile.

Tomato/Tohmatoh

I agree with you. That's why I was somewhat baffled.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EXTRA AVOCADO! Sonderegger
United States
Folsom
CA
flag msg tools
designer
Shall I compare thee to a chevrolet?
badge
...the headlamps of your eyes will make them dream.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is incorrect because a placed tile scores itself as part of EACH line. So for example, were it put in the middle of a cross of 5 tiles, it scores 6, not five. If you re-scored every adjacent tile, you would get inflationary scoring, as each adjacent tile would score 2 points for itself if it was part of both a horizontal or vertical line.

Semantically, in this case, it makes a big difference.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Wise
United States
Tupelo
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hanibalicious wrote:
It is incorrect because a placed tile scores itself as part of EACH line. So for example, were it put in the middle of a cross of 5 tiles, it scores 6, not five. If you re-scored every adjacent tile, you would get inflationary scoring, as each adjacent tile would score 2 points for itself if it was part of both a horizontal or vertical line.

Semantically, in this case, it makes a big difference.

As others have already said, we're both saying the same thing with different wordings.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
andrew fawcett
England
YEOVIL
Somerset
flag msg tools
Yes, we seemed to get huge scores when we played, much bigger than when we were first taught.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.