Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Dragon Pass» Forums » Rules

Subject: More combat sequence questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Purple TripleCrown
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Without further ado:

If an active unit/stack adjacent to 2 inactive stacks conducts a chaotic magic attack (like the Bat does), taking casualties from only one of those 2 stacks:

a. Does the example chaotic magic attack satisfy the "must attack all adjacent stacks" rule?

b. Can the defender counter attack with melee forces if the attacking stack declines to attack with melee forces? Can the attacking stack retreat from melee combat if it has executed a chaotic magic attack?

c. Can the defender counter attack an adjacent attacker with DSM if the defending stack was not the subject of a spirit attack? (Seems not, as spirit magic does not seem to affect any hex other than the one where the defending spirit magic is present, subject to the multi hex attack example cited in the rules).

Interested to hear the thoughts of those more experienced with the game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Pavitt
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
a) Not by itself. You would still have to declare the bat's stack as attacking both inactive stacks. You must resolve all the stages of combat, not just chaos magic.

b) Yes, and it is doubled. As per 7.10.5, only the defender can retreat.

c) Yes they can.

7.8.1 Attacks by magicians' spirits affect all of the defending units, not just those they are placed atop.

and

7.8 Defending units can use DSM if any of the attacking units make spirit magic attacks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.