Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

1822: The Railways of Great Britain» Forums » Rules

Subject: Forced Buy Timing Clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Smith

Cold Spring Harbor
New York
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Under 5.16.1, Forced Train Purchases, the rules say:

Quote:
At the end of its operating turn, if a company (major or minor) does not own a train, it must buy one even if it has insufficient resources.


Does "end of its operating turn" mean after all other steps have been completed? In other words, could a major company without a train still acquire a minor and/or issue shares (other than on its first operating round) before the forced buy, even though normal train buys happen before those steps?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xeryus
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmb
From 5.3:

Quote:
When a company operates, it performs the following activities. Most are optional, but if done they must occur in this order:

and
Quote:
* Buy rolling stock(usually optional but sometimes compulsory
* Acquire a minor company from (willing) player, or from phase 5 onwards, from the bidding boxes (major companies only).
* Issue or redeem corporate stock (major companies only).

There are only two steps after train buying: acquire a minor and issue/redeem stock. There is no compulsory train buying step after that. So you have to possess a train before you can acquire a minor.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
lychenus
msg tools
despite the rules are generally well-defined in 1822, the organization of the rules could definitely be improved. a lot of times your queries would be answered in another session of the rulebook, so far away which really takes time to digest and get familiar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.