Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: First Time Played Now I Have Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruticus
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I finally got to play Star Trek Ascendancy. It was everyone's first time and we have questions.

1. What happens when all of the exploration discs have been placed? Can new space lanes be rolled for to try to connect existing planets and phenomenon?

2. Can Impulse speed ever be more than 2, and when is it used?

3. How exactly do Warp tokens work?

4. After Hegemony, does placing the Control Node cost a ship?

5. What happens to a ship the next turn after it survives a Hazard? Does it face it again next turn? I

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Neumann
United States
Fullerton
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome to hear you have just played ascendancy!

1- New space lanes Caan only be rolled if the planet has only one connection to another system and that such rearrangement wouldntw need to reshape other systems or pass over them.

2- Impulse speed can be up to three if the federation researches the Cochrane institute.

3- warp tokens are used either to reprint a ship that is currently at warp (as a reminder of sorts) every turn that she ship is at warp you add an additional token to represent it's warp range. Another use of the warp tokens is toor show the culture level of a npc warp capable civilization's resistance to hegemony.

4- not at all, you will replace the adversary's control token for yours

5- If the ship stays in system it does not need to brave the hazard, only ships that end their movement in that system have to

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Earl
United States
Portage
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Neumann wrote:


1- New space lanes Caan only be rolled if the planet has only one connection to another system and that such rearrangement wouldnt need to reshape other systems or pass over them.


Not exactly. New space lanes can be added up to the maximum for each system. They just can't be moved once they have two connections.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey
United States
flag msg tools
Make it so
badge
Captain Picard
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bruticus wrote:
3. How exactly do Warp tokens work?

For the cost of one action, you can put a warp token on a ship. You can do this as many times as you like. Also, at the end of the round, you place a free warp token on all ships that already have a warp token. In this way, several warp tokens can pile up on one ship. Once a ship has a warp token, you place it off to the side of the sector it was in, to indicate the sector it started its travel in. The ship is not technically in that sector anymore, but that sector will serve as its starting location once you bring it out of warp.

You can spend one action to bring a ship out of warp. To see how far it can go, count the warp tokens it as collected, as well as any warp symbols on projects you have completed. It can travel this many systems, as long as it does not get stopped by enemy ships and as long as it does not explore a new system (exploring always ends your movement). Note that a sector is a single space from a space lane OR a system disk. A system is a disk.

bruticus wrote:
5. What happens to a ship the next turn after it survives a Hazard? Does it face it again next turn?
Hazards effect any ship that end their movement in the hazardous system. Ships newly created in that system are not effected (like if you build ships out of a starbase in a hazardous system). A ship can sit in a hazardous system turn after turn and not be effected. A ship can also warp through a hazardous system without being effected.
Phenomenon are hazardous systems that reward you for braving the hazard. They have a single research token that can be won by the first ship to brave their hazard. The research token is replenished at the end of each round. This means you may want to keep a ship in the phenomenon to brave the hazard each turn. To make this easier, the game allows you to spend a single action to stay in place and brave the hazard. Instead of moving, you just roll the dice. If your ship survives, you get the research. Research gained from phenomenon can be placed directly on research projects.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) the rules let you try out/measure placement of discs/spacelanes before commiting to it. This way its possible to place a planet in such a way that future connections remain possible.
Strictly speaking you can continue placing spacelanes as needed even if all discs are already in play, so long as it fits.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.