Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Combat Infantry» Forums » Rules

Subject: Destroyed bridge fire limit rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steffan O'Sullivan
United States
Plymouth
NH
flag msg tools
"All history is made up. Good history is made up by good historians; bad history is made up by the others." -David Macaulay
badge
"We talked a little more of Milesians and Firbolgs; but I do not write what he told me here, as it is at variance with things I have written already, as is often the case with legend, whence comes a pleasing variety." -Lord Dunsany
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A river hexside allows two units to fire at an adjacent enemy across a river. A bridge hexside only allows one (which we find odd, but that's moot here).

In scenario five, an engineer destroyed a bridge and we decided it was now a river hexside, allowing two units to fire across. Is this correct?

And, BTW, diagram three on p.6 has an error: two units are firing across a bridge hexside (which we think should actually be the rule ...).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Rice
Scotland
London
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well I would say that if the bridge is destroyed then it's gone and the terrain reverts to whatever it was previously with the appropriate rules for that particular terrain. So I'd agree with your assessment of that.

I don't have a problem with the 1 Fire limit for a bridge as I'd expect the defending troops to be mostly around the bridge using it and associated structures for cover. I think it deserves the same rating as Woods, Town, Tunnel etc. Easier to cross, harder to assault!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Kwasny
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
In an email from Tom, he said that the destroyed bridge hex side would still be a Fire 1 hex side. There would still be enough rubble and structure left to constitute an obstacle to fire.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Ambush!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thumbsup 7.3 Demolish Bridges (pg.8 rules version 1.0a) "Fire limit 1 does not change."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.