Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Fields of Fire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tank move and fire modifier rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Brophy
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone confirm whether or not I have got this right.
My tank moves onto a card: it then fires at an enemy tank: I add the M+F modifier to my calculation.
My tank doesn't move and reacts to an enemy tank with an exposed marker: I don't add the M+F modifier but I do add +1 for the enemy tank moving.
An enemy tank, having moved, fires at my tank: he adds the M+F modifier to his attack.
My tank moves into the LOS of an enemy tank, who fires at me. The M+F modifier does not apply to the enemy attack because he has not moved, but he does add +1 for "target is moving."

Basically the M+F modifier only applies to the firing vehicle because the recipient of fire gets a +1 if he is moving?

My tank moves onto a card and opens fire on an infantry unit. The M+F modifier does not apply, I merely place the relevant VOF marker (usually -3 heavy)
The card I moved onto has a -1 VOF marker on it, from automatic fire. The NCM is -1 for the VOF, +2 for automatic weapons from the AT combat resolution table. +1 for moving and any terrain modifier.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
César Moreno
Spain
Castellon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you've got it mostly right.

A moving target is harder to hit, hence the +1 "moving target" modifier.

Stabilizers were not that good (or even widely used) back then, and firing in the move was largely inaccurate. So some tanks cannot move&fire, while others can - with a penalization.

When your vehicle is affected by a VoF, I don't think you use the infantry NCM, but the vehicle modifier (printed in a white circle in the same marker). In your example I wouldn't use the -1 for Automatic Weapons (against infantry), but the +2 listed in the AT combat table and printed in the white circle.

Anyway I will piggyback with another question. If I'm right (may or may not be the case), a S unit firing against my jeep will use a +3 modifier. But the same unit, if pinned, will use a +2 modifier! sooo, either I am wrong or pinned units become anti-tank specialists?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Brophy
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the reply Cesar. With regard to your jeep being fired on, I think you have got the modifier back to front. If the small arms unit is pinned when it fires at your jeep, the +1 pinned is added to the +3 small arms to give you +4. Only if your jeep was pinned and the firer not pinned, would you end up with a +2 modifier.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.