Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Aristeia!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question re: switches displacing in combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
So I understand that switches happen before resolution. What happens if your switch moves you out of range or line of sight of the attacker?

We figured it could be played one of two ways:

A) the target was valid when declared, and resolution simply takes any remaining faces against the original target. I think this may be an example in the First Game book, where Maximus/8Ball are in a combat roll and 8Ball displaces Maximus out of range. He would still take damage if there were unblocked successes.

B) the target is now invalid and can't be damaged by the attacker, so any unblocked successes would not add wound tokens to the target.

If there's an official ruling in the reference book I'm missing, please feel free to give me the page number/section, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alfonso Velasco
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 2 in sequence of an action:

"From this step onwards, the Action
is completed even if some of the
requirements are no longer met. For
example, an opponent could play a
Tactic that Displaces the target of
your Action out of its Range, but that
wouldn’t stop the Action from taking
Effect"
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
perfect, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.