Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Kingdom Death: Monster» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does losing a nemesis encounter make you lose your gear? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Margaret Edison
msg tools
Thematically, it makes sense that you lose all your gear if you party wipe on a hunt. You are out in the wilds, everyone dies, it would be hard to find those bodies.

Nemesis encounters, however, take place in or near your settlement. Do you still lose all equipped gear if you TPK on one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
el a
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You never lose gears with Total Party Kill, by classic vanilla rules;
but you can play with Death Mode variant in the last pages of the rulebook, which instruct to lose all of them.
You can also houserule your encounters in which you lose gears with far Quarries (after Overwhelming Darkness hunt position) and don't lose with nemesis as they are near to settlment.
It is your game! And you decide, anyway rules instruct not to lose ever at all gears
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dying Tickles
United States
Phoenix
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The only gear you lose is if it has the Unique keyword. You do lose resources, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drake Coker
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
This is my tank for Combat Commander
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
More specifically, unless an Aftermath specifies otherwise, for a TPK:

a. keep all gear (except Irreplacable)
b. lose all resources being carried
c. keep all resources in storage

This happens regardless of where the showdown occurs.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BG.EXE
United States
flag msg tools
I favor Euros, but I like pretty much all games.
badge
Make the kinds of posts you want to read.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DyingTickles wrote:
The only gear you lose is if it has the Unique keyword. You do lose resources, though.

You mean irreplaceable.
Unique means a settlement can only have 1 copy of that card in total.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Margaret Edison
msg tools
Well I misinterpreted the crap out of that rule, I thought you basically lost everything if you TPK'd. Lessons learned.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BG.EXE
United States
flag msg tools
I favor Euros, but I like pretty much all games.
badge
Make the kinds of posts you want to read.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There’s a Scribe in KD:M but I don’t think it’s his doing whistle

Edit: perhaps you meant Scout? I think that’s going to be an AKD:M concept.
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Morrison
Canada
Wentworth
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I understand the lore right, the Scout is always present watching the showdowns and is the one that brings the equipment back to the settlement in the case of a TPK.
The new AKD rules would allow the Scout to join you in the showdown but at the cost that all your equipment is lost in a TPK.
5 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drake Coker
United States
San Diego
California
flag msg tools
badge
This is my tank for Combat Commander
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Exo Desta wrote:
medison91 wrote:
Well I misinterpreted the crap out of that rule, I thought you basically lost everything if you TPK'd. Lessons learned.

I thought I remembered something about Poots coming up with some sort of expansion/variant where we have a Scribe who follows us around jotting down our misadventures, and who carries back our gear for us if we TPK.

Confirm/deny? Was this just a dream I had..?


This will be a feature of "Advanced Kingdom Death: Monster". Part of the Gambler's Chest IIRC.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Captain Mandrake
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, Scouts of Death, revealed in the Gamblers Chest.

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/poots/kingdom-death-mon...

In summary, your party goes hunting with a scout accompanying them, who records what happens so the knowledge isn't lost, and retrieves the equipment of dead survivors.

The Scouts of Death expansion allows the scout to join in on the showdown, with the obvious downside being that if everyone dies, you lose the equipment too!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.