Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Casino» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you Do BOTH a Single Build & a Multiple Build in the Same Turn? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kate Tristan
msg tools
1. Can you Make a Single Build & Move that Build to Another Card to Make a Multiple Build All on your Same Turn?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cassino_%28card_game%29
from Wikipedia: Under 'Building'
“An optional rule is that, when building in this manner (referring to multiple building, where capturing value of build does not change), players may combine other cards on table, and build in the first manner (referring to single building, where you can increase value of build).
For example, suppose the cards on the table are 2 K 6 5 8, and the player holds a 3 & 8. They may play their 3 onto the build to “build 8” (single build) and in the same move “build 8s” (multiple build) by gathering the 5-3, the 8, and the 6-2 together onto one pile, taking in all five cards on their next play.”

Do most Casino players play with this rule?

2. Can Multiple Single Cards be Added to Your Build?
https://www.pagat.com/fishing/casino.html
Pagat shows an example under Variations: Building Rules (3rd Bullet Point)
Say on table there is 2,4,5 and in your hand is a 2,8.
Can you combine the 2,4 on the table with your 2 to build 8 (on another turn)?
Every example of making a build online shows a player adding ONE card from hand to a card on table to make a build, so I wanted to know if you can use more multiple individual cards on table to add to your card for build.

3. Can a build be treated as a regular numeral card in a combination capture?
Say the table has a 6-build (5-A) and an individual 2. In your hand you have an 8. Can you do a combination capture of the 6-build and 2 on table with your 8 in hand?

4. If a Player Builds on their Previous Turn, Can they Start a New, Separate Build?
Or are they limited to their current build from previous turn- by either capturing it, or building on to it some more?

5. Are Sweeps Part of the Regular Rules?
Wikipedia & Pagat has a sweep listed as a rules variant.
Do most people play with sweeps in the game?

6. Face Cards: Kings, Queens, Jacks
Are they never part of a build the way most people play this?
Or do some people play that a face card has a value & plays like the number cards?

Both Pagat & Wikipedia say you can only capture them with an identical face card: Play a King from hand to capture a King on table.
Both Pagat & Wikipedia say:
-can not capture multiple Kings with your 1 King
-face cards do not have a denomination
-face cards not part of a build
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob McMurray
United States
La Grange
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Can you Make a Single Build & Move that Build to Another Card to Make a Multiple Build All on your Same Turn?

-- Absolutely Yes. Gathering and building work together. What's on the table is always fair game.


2. Can Multiple Single Cards be Added to Your Build?

-- Absolutely Yes. A-2 is the same a single 3 in a build.

3. Can a build be treated as a regular numeral card in a combination capture?

-- Absolutely Not (as described in the example). This is one of the reasons why you build; to protect cards from this kind of combination. However, the classic capture does apply if there is an A-5 build from your opponent and you have 2-8 in your hand. You can play the 2 on the A-5 build and call your own '8' build. If your opponent has an A-5-2-4 combo build of '6' you cannot capture it. The second set within the build "locks" it.

4. If a Player Builds on their Previous Turn, Can they Start a New, Separate Build?

-- Yes - so long as they have the cards in their hand to take each/both of the builds.

5. Are Sweeps Part of the Regular Rules?

-- Sweeps are not part of the regular rules. They are a variant and we play with them every single time. Why wouldn't you??

6. Face Cards: Kings, Queens, Jacks

-- Never part of a build. Ever. This would disrupt some of the tension of the "last hand" dynamic and who will get the cards remaining on the table at the very end.

If my answers seem wrong let's discuss as I may not have completely understood the intent or nuance of each question.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Holder
United States
Centennial
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Islay has the right of it for 1-5.

Islay wrote:

6. Face Cards: Kings, Queens, Jacks

-- Never part of a build. Ever. This would disrupt some of the tension of the "last hand" dynamic and who will get the cards remaining on the table at the very end.

If my answers seem wrong let's discuss as I may not have completely understood the intent or nuance of each question.


If you want to use J=11, Q=12, K-13, and A=1 -or- 14 then you are not playing "Casino", you are playing "Royal Casino", which is also a popular variant, although not as much in US/UK. To add endgame tension, endgame scoring is a little different.

https://www.pagat.com/fishing/royal_casino.html
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
BoB 3K
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Yes, you can use any cards you want on the table to build a set or multiple set (more than one group of the same number). The key is that you use only one card from your hand. You can even add to a build currently on the table, in essence 'stealing' your opponents build. The only restriction is if a current build is a multiple set--like there are two groups of 4 together--that can not be altered.

2. Yes. You can have a set of 10 built from a previous turn, and on the next turn simply put another 10 on. And then the following turn, take the trick with another 10.

3. Yes. See 1. You can do any type of building as long as a) you use exactly one card from your hand to build or take. b) you can't alter mulit-set builds.

4. I'm less certain about this as an official rule. But we've always played that making a new build counts as building so you can have multiple builds going. Looking at it from the other way, the rule is that if you have active builds, you can't just throw off, you have to do more building or take one of your builds.

5. I'm not sure what you mean by sweeps, but if you mean getting extra points for clearing the table, we don't play that. I've seen it in multiple rule sets, but I don't like it, mainly because there is virtually no skill in getting a sweep, it's just the luck of the deal and the order of play, and there's already plenty of luck in Casino.

6. I've never seen rules that allow face cards in builds. Even to the extent of allowing groups. I.e. if there are two Kings on the board and you have one in your hand, you may only take one of the Kings on the table.


Casino is close to my favorite game ever. It is short but strategic, can be played anywhere with just a normal deck of cards, and it has an almost equal luck to skill level so games can very greatly but in the end the skilled player will win a bit more often.

I also have a variant for Casino that adds a few more scoring options. I should post it sometime.

Have fun!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kate Tristan
msg tools
Thank you all for answering the questions.

For: Question 2: Can Multiple Single Cards be Added to your Build? I meant all on your same turn, can you pick up say 2 loose cards from the table in addition to your played card to form a build?
ex. No builds yet on table. Table has a 2 and a 4, both by themselves. Can you play a 3 from your hand, and gather the loose 2 & the loose 4 to make a 9-Build, assuming you also hold a 9?
===============================================
Is there a distinction between Forming a Build (initially) AND Adding to a Build (adding to an established build) where Loose Cards on table are concerned?

On pagat, under '3. Building'
“A numeral card may be played & combined with other cards on the table, placing them together to form a build.”

Then, under 'Adding to a build'
“There are two ways of adding to a build:
1.You may add a card from your hand to a single build, increasing the capturing number, provided that you also hold a card which will capture the new build. At the same time you may incorporate additional cards from the table into the build, if they are equal to the new capturing number. In this case the build will become multiple. You can never use a card from the table to change the value of a single build.
.........and a little later it says:

“2. You may add to any build, single or multiple, by playing a card from your hand which, either alone or combined with other cards on the table which are not yet in builds, matches the existing capture number of the build, provided that you hold a card which can capture the combined build.” (Looks like they are describing a Multiple Build)


So '3. Building' above means you can add any number of loose cards from table to your played card when forming a build initially:
ex.: 2,4,5 on table, all are loose cards. You Play a 3, you can gather the loose 2 & the loose 4 from table to your 3 just played, to make a 9-Build, all on the same turn.

If I'm not mistaken, #1 way of 'Adding to a build' above is saying: When you have an existing build, you increase the single build's capturing number with your played card, and if you use any loose cards on table, they have to equal the new capturing number (increased build size) to be played and so, the Single Build has become a Multiple Build.

And for #2 way of 'Adding to a build', you may combine your played card with any loose cards on table if they add up to the same value as the build you are adding to, which makes it a Multiple Build.

Both #1 and #2 ways of 'Adding to a Build' allow Loose Cards from table to be added to a build only if adding to an existing Multiple Build OR turning a Single Build into a Multiple Build. But these rules don't allow you to add loose cards to increase a Single Build to a become a larger valued Single Build.

Pagat's Example B (Under 'Adding to a build')
“The table contains a loose 2, and a 5-Build (A-4). You hold a 3,8,10. You can play your 3 on the 5-Build & announce 'building 8', but you are not allowed to incorporate the 2 from the table into this build to make it a build of 10.”

Do you guys follow example B's restrictions, or not follow them, and would allow the 2 to be incorporated to make a build of 10?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kate Tristan
msg tools
I have 3 books on card game rules, which I thought would be thorough and with no mistakes. Considering how old some of these traditional card games are, you figure a book printed recently should have zero mistakes.

But look at how they botch the definition of a Single Build:

The book is 'Learn to Play the 200 Best-Ever Card Games' by Jeremy Harwood (2008).

from book's Casino rules:
“Building – there are 2 kinds of build – single and multiple. If a player adds a 3 to a 3 on the table and announces, “building 3s' for instance, this is a single build. A multiple build is when more than one card is added.”

This is an error in the book
The 3 on top of 3 & saying building 3s is a Multiple Build, not a Single Build as the book says. (If player said: 'Building 6', that would be a Single Build)

And their definition of a multiple build: 'more than one card is added to a build', is wrong.
A Single Build can have multiple cards added- a Build-8 (2-A-5) for example, has multiple cards added, but is not a Multiple Build.

It's a shame that I can't trust this book with any other rules after this definition. This book is beautiful, with every page being glossy, and nice, colorful illustrations.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.