Wonzling van Wonz
Wallis and Futuna
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everybody,

last night we played a non standard scenario
Spoiler (click to reveal)
where we had to protect a NPC to reach an altar in the last room. Now the altar is an obstacle,
and the Cragheart has an ability to throw obstacles (at lvl 3). Since I couldn't find a rule that contradicted this, I allowed for throwing the obstacle four squares closer to the NPC making things considerably easier. Was this allowed?

Another question I have is about freshly spawned scenario monsters. We open a door in a scenario, and the scenario book tells us to spawn additional monsters behind us. Do these also get to act immediately like monsters in a new room behind a door?

My 3rd question is regarding invisible characters. Can these go invisible in a doorway and effectively block out an entire room of monsters from focusing anything making them waste their turn?

Btw. Gloomhaven rocks. Best dungeon crawler ever
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ezra McNichols
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Re: 3 questions: Cragheart quest altar throw? Scenario monster initiative? Invis blocking?
1. Afaik, yes. You might want to check the FAQ for the specific scenario though.
2. If monsters spawn at the end of the round they do not act that round (the scenario book will usually say things like (at the end of each round, or even-numbered rounds, etc, do xxx). If they spawn during the round they do get to act that round, as if they were revealed from a door opening.
3. Absolutely. Bear in mind that this only works on non-flying or jumping monsters. Also bear in mind that ranged monsters will still move up if there's a spot in the room they can reach that has range to an enemy. But for normal monsters, this is a great tactic.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wonzling van Wonz
Wallis and Futuna
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 3 questions: Cragheart quest altar throw? Scenario monster initiative? Invis blocking?
Thank you! I didn't know there were scenario specific answers in the FAQ. Looked it up and there's an explicit statement that altar throwing is allowed thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Re: 3 questions: Cragheart quest altar throw? Scenario monster initiative? Invis blocking?
that seems rather sacrilegious
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc
United States
Medford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Hello!
badge
I had to spend this geek gold on something
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 3 questions: Cragheart quest altar throw? Scenario monster initiative? Invis blocking?
I don't know if #1 is allowed, but I did it too. I figure the humor of it (and you/your group's enjoyment) is more important than some specific rule that applies to only one scenario.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernard
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 3 questions: Cragheart quest altar throw? Scenario monster initiative? Invis blocking?
Please use spoiler tags!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 3 questions: Cragheart quest altar throw? Scenario monster initiative? Invis blocking?
I have the feeling the ability was designed primarily for that use

Bernaar wrote:
Please use spoiler tags!


For what?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bernard
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 3 questions: Cragheart quest altar throw? Scenario monster initiative? Invis blocking?
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Quote:
last night we played a non standard scenario where we had to protect a NPC to reach an altar in the last room.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 3 questions: Cragheart quest altar throw? Scenario monster initiative? Invis blocking?
Bernaar wrote:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Quote:
last night we played a non standard scenario where we had to protect a NPC to reach an altar in the last room.


Well, if you consider that a spoiler, they might want to tag this part, too.

Quote:
We open a door in a scenario, and the scenario book tells us to spawn additional monsters behind us.


Let's not go overboard here. I don't think anything has been ruined by finding out there are escort scenarios.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wonzling van Wonz
Wallis and Futuna
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: 3 questions: Cragheart quest altar throw? Scenario monster initiative? Invis blocking?
Bernaar wrote:
Please use spoiler tags!


I put it in spoiler tags. Just for you kiss
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bastian Melsheimer
Germany
Nuremberg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We did the same thing and wondered about whether it was allowed or not. But
Spoiler (click to reveal)
the altar was clearly marked in the scenario description as an obstacle, and I have found no rules to the contrary.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
DeS_Tructive wrote:
Let's not go overboard here. I don't think anything has been ruined by finding out there are escort scenarios.

haha, your characters are hiring themselves out as part of an "escort service".
Spoiler (click to reveal)
not that that is really any worse than hiring themselves out to kill and plunder, which is what the main plot of the game is. but still
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JayJ79 wrote:

haha, your characters are hiring themselves out as part of an "escort service".


Hell to the yeah! I'm pretty sure most of would earn a lot more in that manner. It's a tiny city under military control, hawt slampieces like Rogue, Brute and Mindthief would be just the thing for lonely soldiers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.