Popular Tags: [View All]
Joao Mendonca
Portugal
Tavira
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

This is my first time glueing and messing up with sprues ( I did some glueing in metal minis but was 20 years ago ). So I want some advice, ask some questions:

First here are the starting survivors and lion:

https://imgur.com/gallery/hV72t?s=wa

1) I’m using Tanya extra thin cement, I noticed/knew that it would melt plastic and give me a nicer finish. When the plastic doesn’t melt in some gaps you can see, do I put more tamya? Or I just leave it like it is ? (I choose the 2nd )

2) I ussually test dry fitting the piece and then put a small drop of tamya to have some glueing on the piece and then apply on the edges, do I apply all around the edges ? Or do I just apply at some points?

3) overall did I do an ok job? Or not?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
KDM
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Jhonyb wrote:
Hello,

This is my first time glueing and messing up with sprues ( I did some glueing in metal minis but was 20 years ago ). So I want some advice, ask some questions:

1) I’m using Tanya extra thin cement, I noticed/knew that it would melt plastic and give me a nicer finish. When the plastic doesn’t melt in some gaps you can see, do I put more tamya? Or I just leave it like it is ? (I choose the 2nd )

2) I ussually test dry fitting the piece and then put a small drop of tamya to have some glueing on the piece and then apply on the edges, do I apply all around the edges ? Or do I just apply at some points?

1) you can use a bit of cement to fill gaps, but it will also dissolve the plastic on the surface roughening it up, so experienced modellers will do that with putty and lots of sanding to create a smooth filled gap finish. very good that you are dry-fitting, that has a bigger impact on fit and gap size than anything else