Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retaliate stacking, 1 source of damage or multiple rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Kessel
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
The rules state that "multiple retaliate bonuses stack with one another". Does that mean two retaliate bonuses would merge into one larger retaliate (one source of damage) or that each is applied separately (two sources of damage)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trond Roaas
Norway
Kongsberg
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Only the applicable retailations would stack - if you had three retaliate bonuses - one +1, one +2 vs melee attacks and one +3 with a range of 2:
If an adjacent enemy attacks with a melee attack, all three stack to a single 6 damage. If an adjacent enemy attacks with a range attack, the +1 and +3 stack, and if it is an enemy at range 2 with a ranged attack (or at range 2 with a melee area of effect attack), only the +3 will retaliate.
But - they will stack into a single source of damage.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liam Brennan
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Eternally
badge
Deluded
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trondster wrote:
Only the applicable retailations would stack - if you had three retaliate bonuses - one +1, one +2 vs melee attacks and one +3 with a range of 2:
If an adjacent enemy attacks with a melee attack, all three stack to a single 6 damage. If an adjacent enemy attacks with a range attack, the +1 and +3 stack, and if it is an enemy at range 2 with a ranged attack (or at range 2 with a melee area of effect attack), only the +3 will retaliate.
But - they will stack into a single source of damage.


^ This.

It's important to ensure whenever you stack bonuses like this that they're the same 'category' of bonus, rather than just the bonuses themselves
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.