Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Pulsar 2849» Forums » Rules

Subject: Careful with the conversions! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
LCG 74160
msg tools
mbmb
Although the written rules are clear, some icons are unfortunately misleading. Most (maybe all?) conversions are one time only even though the icons do not indicate this.

For instance, the top of technology A is described as "At the end of the game, you may pay 2 engineering cubes to score 9 points. Usable only once.". The accompanying icon is very clear, with a "1x" on it to highlight the "usable once" part:


OTOH, some transmitters allow you to convert cubes into points. The text in the rulebook (last page) is crystal clear: "During each Production Phase, you may spend 1 engineering cube to buy the indicated points. Usable once per round.". Unfortunately, the accompanying icon does not have the "1x" on it, giving the impression that, as opposed to the previous icon, it can be used multiple times:


So, be careful with what you see and only trust what you read...
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcus
Italy
Torino
Piemonte
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yes you are right
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Sandy
Utah
flag msg tools
Thanks, we played that since there was no "1x" on it, you could do it as many times as you want tonight.

Makes that transmitter with 1cube->5points RIDICULOUSLY OP. Someone got 70 points out of it throughout the game (trading as many as 9 cubes for 45 points during one of the rounds), and won.

That being said, I would've won by a long shot if that hadn't been the case so yay :-P .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.