Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Fallout» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving into an unexplored tile rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nathan Larsen
Canada
Surrey
BC
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm all ready to play! Game is set up and i'm ready to go but I have one last question. Can you move into an unexplored hex forcing it to be flipped or must it be explored first?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It must be explored first.
2 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Larsen
Canada
Surrey
BC
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Keep in mind that this is not true for enemies. They can move through unexplored tiles as if they were a single space.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua V
United States
CO
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bleached_lizard wrote:
It must be explored first.

What about if you use the vertibird or the perk that allows you to more to any spot on the map? Can you still move to an explored tile and force it to be explored for free?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I don't actually see anything in the rules saying you can't move onto an unexplored tile, but you can't reveal it unless you explore.

Rules aside, yeah, you have to explore it first.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shaftwindu wrote:
bleached_lizard wrote:
It must be explored first.

What about if you use the vertibird or the perk that allows you to more to any spot on the map? Can you still move to an explored tile and force it to be explored for free?

There are no rules that cover "revealing a tile via moving". So no - you cannot do that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J G
msg tools
You can split up your move action, though. So if you have two movement points, you can perform a Move Action to move 1 space, then perform an Explore Action, then finish your Move Action. That uses both your actions, though.

Also note that the adventurer that starts with power armor only has 1 movement point per Move Action, so he won't be able to split things up this way. Edit: Unless, as Craig S points out, he spends a cap for the additional movement point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
greeze wrote:
Also note that the adventurer that starts with power armor only has 1 movement point per Move Action, so he won't be able to split things up this way.

Unless he spent a cap...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
as. nielo
Belgium
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
What about exploring a tile with a enemy on it? Where should he go on the explored side?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
kitzhubsch wrote:
What about exploring a tile with a enemy on it? Where should he go on the explored side?

Wherever the explorer wants to put it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Hathorn
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
csouth154 wrote:
kitzhubsch wrote:
What about exploring a tile with a enemy on it? Where should he go on the explored side?

Wherever the explorer wants to put it.
Does that work the same for quest icons? In the "Capital Wasteland" scenario, there's a Crashed Vertibird in an unexplored hex at the start of the game. Once a player explores the hex does he place it in any space just like a monster?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls