Claustrophobia» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is this game broken? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Stone
New Zealand
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I'm new to this game and have played the beginners scenario a few times before taking on the next, 'Holding Back the Invasion'. I played the demons and my wife managed to complete the quest without sustaining a single scratch. The reason, I was unable to put any of my forces on the board bar one. Rules state that I can't place troglodytes on a tile containing a human character and they have to enter the tile through an unexplored entrance. The only other ways of entering a tile is via the Burrowing Monsters action where you need exactly 11 through a combination of dice results, or placing a tough troglodyte via an action card (the only way I managed to get an enemy on the board) and via a Lair tile.
Perhaps it was just bad luck but no Lair tiles came out, I couldn't role the right points on the dice to make 11 and my wife managed to produce an enclosed cavern system spreading out her characters to prevent me from entering through any open unexplored entrances.
I basically just sat there, played with my dice and built up my TPs or took action cards which, for the most part, didn't really do me any favours or just delayed the inevitable. My wife kept exploring keeping unexplored openings to a minimum until she drew the dead end stash tile.
So, where did I go wrong? Was there something I could have done differently to have made this more of a fight?
What would have been more challenging, at least for the human player was to assign a character as the one holding the explosives rather than having all the characters having them. As far as I can see there is only two outcomes to this scenario, either the humans blow up the pit entrance or they don't which means the demon player has to kill all of the human characters, no easy task, thats assuming they get any demons on the board.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide