Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

1832: The South» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing of 6 train merger round rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Shaffer
United States
San Francisco
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A company must have operated to be eligible to merge. When the first 6 train is bought, there is a special merger round.

If the company that buys the 6 train just floated in the previous stock round, is it eligible to merge?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Martin
Canada
Ottawa
Ont.
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It can only have bought a train at the end of an operating round so it must have operated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Shaffer
United States
San Francisco
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What in the world does Ireland have to do with it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephe Thomas
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
11.1 says "When the first 6-train is purchased, there is one last merger phase immediately after the operating company finishes its operating round, and any mergers occur." A newly-floated company buying the first 6-train completes its activities before the merger phase kicks in, so it is eligible to merge.

Personally I'd have used "turn" instead of "round" in the above rule, but some 18xx rules writers, including Bill Dixon, have used "operating round" to mean either the activities of a single company or those of all of them, interchangeably.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.