Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cragheart Crater - Top Action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Wonham
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I know the answer, but I need proof for the 15 year old. Or I might be wrong.

The Consume Earth, Push 2, one experience piece:

I have to consume earth to do the push and the XP, that's clear.

1) DO I have to do the Push to get the XP.
2) As the Attack 3, Range 3 is ranged,is the push ranged as well.
3) Do I have to do the attack 3, range 3 to consume the earth (I think not).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Florin
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mwonham wrote:
I know the answer, but I need proof for the 15 year old. Or I might be wrong.

The Consume Earth, Push 2, one experience piece:

I have to consume earth to do the push and the XP, that's clear.

1) DO I have to do the Push to get the XP.
2) As the Attack 3, Range 3 is ranged,is the push ranged as well.
3) Do I have to do the attack 3, range 3 to consume the earth (I think not).



1) You do not have to push to get the XP, but you do have to get the XP if you do the consumption (receiving XP is not optional)

2 and 3) No, the consumption is not attached to the attack. It is a separate line which grants a basic push and gives you XP


Edit: Well damn, that is incorrect since the font is smaller and is therefore part of the attack. I had not noticed that font was smaller. Now I'm thinking I need to check other cards also.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ferejohn
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Pitying fools as hard as I can...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aflorin wrote:
mwonham wrote:
I know the answer, but I need proof for the 15 year old. Or I might be wrong.

The Consume Earth, Push 2, one experience piece:

I have to consume earth to do the push and the XP, that's clear.

1) DO I have to do the Push to get the XP.
2) As the Attack 3, Range 3 is ranged,is the push ranged as well.
3) Do I have to do the attack 3, range 3 to consume the earth (I think not).



1) You do not have to push to get the XP, but you do have to get the XP if you do the consumption (receiving XP is not optional)


Though just to be clear, the consumption is optional, so if you weren't planning to push and you didn't want the XP (say due to a battle goal) you could choose not to consume even if the element were not available.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michele c
Germany
Bielefeld
flag msg tools
florin wrote:

2 and 3) No, the consumption is not attached to the attack. It is a separate line which grants a basic push and gives you XP


are you saying that you mush push and adjacent enemy? Not the target of the attack?

Can you refer the rule for this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trond Roaas
Norway
Kongsberg
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Rulebook, page 22:
Quote:
Some character actions can also apply these effects without an attack, and in such cases the target of the effect is written on the ability card.

As the consume element, gain XP and push effect is written on its own line, it is separate from the attack.
Since the push does not specify a range, it is an adjacent target.

Edit: Hmm - or is it? If you look at the font size, it seems that it is part of the attack - see the discussion here: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1888627/relationship-betwee...

If it's on its own line, it's an adjacent target. If it's connected to the attack, it's the attack target.
Going with the font size (and thematically, for that matter), I'd say it's connected to the attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dewsbery
United Kingdom
Sutton Coldfield
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's how I've always interpreted it - that the push is part of the (ranged) attack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Schofield
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes part of the attack. You push the enemy you attacked basically.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaac Childres
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
scooph81 wrote:
Yes part of the attack. You push the enemy you attacked basically.

This. So to answer the original question, yes, you do have to attack to consume the earth.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marwin Hebot
msg tools
mbmbmb
What happens in the case that an additional target is added, e.g. through Backup Ammunition? Is the "Push 2, 1 XP" gained by element consumption valid for both targets or is the element considered used up by the first attack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Schofield
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Unsure, but I've been playing that the extra target can be pushed, but you don't get two times the XP as it's not a "play the card twice" but a "add target" that happens. Plus you only infuse the element once.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.