Joao Mendonca
Portugal
Tavira
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello painters!

I’m a total noob in painting!
I have a couple of questions for anyone who cares to answer. thanks in advance!

I have 6/7 spray cans and multiple army painter shade/wash ( quickshade dark, blue, purple, green, red tones/washes)

1) I’ve just painted Gloomhaven starter minis with spray can and zenithal highlighted with grey and white. Can I now shade them? With army painter quick shade dark tone? Will that be an option to highlight the minis? Will I ruin the highlights? Should I dip in the quickshade can or paint with brush?

2) I also primed KDM starter survivors with black and now I wanted to zenithal highlight with white on the lantern zone but I see everyone airbrushing and I only have spray cans. What distance should I use on the minis to get the best result? Anyone has a zenithal spray can highlight, I only see with airbrush.

3) I have tamya Putty how to use it on the gaps of my KDM minis? Apply with toothpick and pass a q-tip? I find the result quite underwhelming so I must be doing something wrong! Also should I sand it after? Or I just pass the q-tip? Wet? Or not?

Thanks for the answers

Ps: the spell weaver / brute turned out okish, the others not really lol

Lion and a survivor:

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias Eklund
Sweden
flag msg tools
Hey!

Really new to painting here too. I've also tried zenithal priming with cans and think the priming worked ģreat. Did not do object sourced lighting from the langerns though but sont think that would be an issue, great idea friend!

What i found and need to work on is glazing/shading over the priming instead of base coating over it. Much of the priming was for naught... only one Ive finished so far is the lion. Dont have any progress pics though.

On putty, I tried using gw liquid green stuff. Total lacklustre. It just shrank back into the cracks again. Have some milliput i will try on next model. Tips very welcome!