Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
21 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Strategy

Subject: How to maximize XP gain as a mindthief? (** minor lvl 1 card spoilers **) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dor Levi
msg tools
My friends and I started playing a week ago, and even though we only covered two scenarios so far (1&2), I wonder if there's a bit of imbalance in the amount of base XP different classes can gain each scenario.

We're playing as a 4 person party, with the Cragheart, Tinkerer, Scoundrel and the Mindthief.

After those two scenarios, our base (scenario bonus excluded) xp for each character is:
Cragheart - 30 (13 + 17)
Scoundrel - 29 (12 + 17)
Tinkerer - 28 (13 + 15)
Mindthied - 26 (12 + 14)

Looking at the base cards, it seems like the Mindthief has no way of competing with Cragheart cards like Backup ammunition (potential 4 xp) or Opposing strike (potential 3 xp).

I know 2 games might be a bit too early to judge, but I do wonder if I can optimize the Mindthief's xp gain somehow.

One thing I did figured out I should do, is discard my active augment card prior to resting, so I could both get another card to play and cycle to get the xp reward again.

Any other interesting tips?

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederik Hede
msg tools
I wouldnt get too hung up on the whole exp game. But i didnt find it that difficult to get exp as mindthief. You get exp every time you activate a augment, and your cards align pretty well. bottom of "perverse edge" is nice with stun and exp, and sets up your "frigid apparition". Depending on your augment "submissive affliction" is a decent choice as well as fearsome blade. And remember you get exp when you complete a scenario as well

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Kameron
msg tools
I actually don't like getting much XP - I like levelling slowly. So I just completely ignore XP gain in my tactical decisions - you will level eventually!