Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Holland '44: Operation Market-Garden» Forums » Rules

Subject: Help with airborne remmannts and replacements track rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Omar Jedi
Canada
flag msg tools
Hi,

This is my first play and I'm stuck at the very beginning.

I'm rolling for airlandings. When I get to hex 4819 (2 steps 82nd unit), I get a 6. According to the table 22.3 this means S1.

The rules mention on 22.3.3:
"S1: The airborne unit is Scattered and loses one step. Record one
Airborne Replacement for the appropriate division on the Airborne
Replacement Track.*
* Airborne units may use these Replacements to restore reduced units
(22.7). "

a couple questions:
" Record one Airborne Replacement for the appropriate division on the Airborne Replacement Track.": does this mean placing the Airborne REPL marker on square number 1 of the Airborne replacements track? Is this track numbered 0-4 meant to track the number of available replacements?

"Airborne units may use these Replacements to restore reduced units" and then, on 22.7 " An Airborne Replacement may not be used on the turn it is created—but it may be used on any following turn." : using replacements is part of the movement phase, so if I get this right, my reduced unit could get back to 2 steps during next turn's movement phase?

rule 22.7 explains "returnees" but uses a "REPL" marker: are returnees and replacements the same thing? The expanded sequence of play on the back of the rulebook, section 4, mentions both separately so I'm not sure.

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Carlson
United States
South Jordan
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi sir, you are correct in all of your interpretations!

Edit: and yes, replacements and airborne returnees are the same thing and both use the REPL counters.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Omar Jedi
Canada
flag msg tools
Hey Thanks a lot for the ultra-fast response!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug DeMoss
United States
Stillwater
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I recommend stacking the reduced 82nd battalion with a full-strength one just so that you don't find yourself needing to reduce something to a remnant in the initial drop.

That said, it's temporary as others have pointed out. Note also that the "lost" step can go back to ANY battalion - as the Allies, I'd rather have a step or two in the "bank" that I can later put back wherever it is needed than have a flawless drop.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René van den Assem
Netherlands
Hengelo
Overijssel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
demoss1 wrote:
as the Allies, I'd rather have a step or two in the "bank" that I can later put back wherever it is needed than have a flawless drop.


Yes indeed a very handy "joker" to have in hand.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.