Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Transatlantic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Obtaining Coal Bunkers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Leitner
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I’m confused. When playing the Director card, the rules say one can choose to take a coal bunker. Yet, if playing with the President variant, the rules say that coal bunkers must be bought.

To confuse matters further, the coal bunker tokens all have £50 printed on one side.

Are the rules for obtaining coal bunkers actually different whether playing with the director vs. the president (free in one, £50 in the other)? That just seems bizarre to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
admin
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When playing the President card, coal bunkers are bought with contracts, not cash.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Invest action lets you buy a coal bunker for £50 when playing either variant.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Belgium
Brussel
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I also thought it very weird that a coal bunker costs 50 pounds with Invest yet is free with the Director. That is the case, right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Invest also gives 2 coal, and Director does not.

In addition, Director gives a Coal Bunker only if you're taking back at least 6 cards.

You may find yourself in situations in which you need a Coal Bunker (or coal!) and you don't yet have many cards played.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.