Popular Tags: [View All]
Eddie B
United States
Unspecified
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
Poll: Your favorite starting country and going last
Played the game for the first time this weekend and I was player 4 and started in Syria. In hindsight, Syria seems like a bad place to start. Three out of the first four events showed up with two barbarian leaders placed with the Sassanids and a Rival Emperor in Syria! Ouch. Also, the odds of getting hit by Barbarians are pretty high in comparison with some other countries.

I studied the map afterwards, looked at some odds and looked at the event cards and came to conlusion that Brittania and Hispania seem to be good places to start. Sure you get more legacy for killing Barbarians but it's nice to have it a bit easier in the first 2-3 rounds. Hispania has no direct barbarians and no nasty events, Brittania has the Franks to deal with but only about a 5.50% chance of getting hit.

Where do you like to start?
1. Your favorite starting country/region:
Africa
Hispania
Aegyptus
Syria
Galatia
Asia
Thracia
Macedonia
Pannonia
Brittania
Gallia
2. Is going 4th (last pick) a real disadvantage?
Yes
No
      57 answers
Poll created by burrie
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie B
United States
Unspecified
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mb
BTW, besides Hispania and Brittania it looks like Gallia and Macedonia aren't too bad either.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kaede Farenheit
Spain
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say that Gallia is the best start point. Easy to go after Rome if you need it, low probability of barbarians because they can only reach you from one province (and only 1/3 times)... plus not a lot of possible rivals early on.

I usually go for Hispania if I can. That said, I only played the game 3 times.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
United Kingdom
Farnham
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
mb