Subject: Strategy cards optional? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Derek Anderson
United States
alpine
ut
flag msg tools
Are any of the primary abilities of strategy cards optional? For example, with the technology card do you have to do one free research and then research again for 6 resources? Or can you do and or?

I'm new to this game so sorry if I'm misunderstanding any basic concepts.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All of the primary abilities are optional. You can use the Technology strategy card's action, and choose to not research any new technologies at all.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Williams
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
BITS FOR THE BITS GOD!
badge
Staring in dumbfounded terror at Frans Raynor's neckbeard.
mbmbmbmbmb
No, they are not optional, though many contain optional sub-components. You also cannot pass for the round until you have activated your Strategy Card (you can never prevent the table from partaking in the secondary action eventually).

Full breakdown of mays and musts for weird corner cases:

Leadership: You must gain 3 Command Counters (unless there are less than 3 in your reinforcements). You don't have to buy more than that.

Diplomacy: You must choose a system. If you activate Diplomacy when you somehow manage to control no planets but still have some ground forces being carried in space (and therefore haven't been eliminated), technically you will not have a valid target and nothing will happen. Other players can still do the secondary.

Political: You must move the speaker token, you must draw two action cards. As a shortcut you could effectively leave the two Agenda cards on top without looking at them, but the rules state you must look at them and put them each back on top or bottom.

Construction: You may choose to not place anything for either part of the primary.