Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Sentinels of the Multiverse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Naturalist's Main Power rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stefan de Wolf
Netherlands
Barendrecht
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

Me and my group had a discussion last night.
I was playing the Naturalist and we were fighting Infinitor.
Infinitor played a card that made the hero with the most cards can't play cards. That card stayed in play until it was detroyed. Don't know the name of the card anymore. It was some sort of cage.

So i was dissabled for the time being.
A friend of mine asked me if could play a power. I said yes, but that power
makes me search my deck for a from card and put it in play.
So i could not do that because it count's as playing a card.

He and the rest at the table were not convinced that correct.

So my question realy is, does putting a card in play as a cause of a power counts as playing a card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Take Walker
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, as a matter of fact. "Put it into play" is actually a completely different action than playing a card, and is specifically meant to get around "can't play cards". So it's not the power so much as the wording that allows you to get that form out.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Everything between now and the next game is just killing time
England
London
Agitation
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to agree with Takewalker, if you compare Expatriette's base power to The Naturalist's base power, you can see the difference in wording.
If in the same position as you describe, Expatriette could not play a card via her power.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Moonhowler wrote:
It was some sort of cage.

That would be Constricting Cage. I hate that card. angry
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan de Wolf
Netherlands
Barendrecht
Zuid-Holland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys for clearing that up.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Himes
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This game is extremely literal. Since you power did not actually say that you were playing that card, then that power does not in fact play a card. It does not matter that the effect is the same, only in what the exact wording is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.