7 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Introduction » New User Questions

Subject: New to board gaming rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Hall
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
So basically I’m new to board gaming, I’m looking for some recommendations for me and the mrs, recently played ticket to ride and need something a bit more... engaging - currently looking into Arkham Horror, Pandemic, Sherlock Holmes consulting detective.

Have just been looking into 7th continent as well.

Kinda just looking for recommendations on games for 2-4 friends lasting around 1-4 hours depending on how engrossing/in depth the game is.

TYIA

DH
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Burrell
United States
Cedar Rapids
Iowa
flag msg tools
Sequence or Red7 are quick 4 player games to play.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
col_w
United Kingdom
Poole
Dorset
flag msg tools
badge
mb
Pandemic is definitely a solid pick - everyone I have introduced it to has loved it, and it can get quite tense. There's a lot of replayability just in the base game, and plenty of expansions to mix things up a bit. Just be careful not to become an 'alpha gamer' (basically telling everyone else what moves to make) - keeping your hand hidden can hep with this.

I've heard good things of 7th Continent too, but not played yet.

Without knowing really what grabs you or your mrs, I'll throw out some games me + mine enjoy:

Dominion- the granddaddy of deck builders, still one of the best. Recently re-released base game, lots of expansions. Some people dislike it due to lots of shuffling, or consider it to be multi-player solitaire.

Five Tribes - Area control with a mancala mechanic. Can lead to a bit of analysis paralysis if you are prone to it, especially as a 2-player game.

Waggle Dance - Allocate bees (dice) to different actions to be first to produce a certain amount of honey by gathering and converting nectar.