Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quick Null Combat card clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Josh
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
During the first scenario we played this as a 'miss' canceling the whole hit, but upon rereading the rules we found it is instead a 'null' the attack does no damage, but do all the other effects of the attack still trigger?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Kratz
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. There is no such thing aa complete miss.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liam Brennan
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Eternally
badge
Deluded
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's a case of incorrect colloquialisms in this instance...

As the Null card negates any damage it has become known as a 'miss' card, leading people to believe the attack, thematically, has 'missed'. In actuality, as above, the card isn't a 'miss' card but a 'no damage' card. Thematically speaking your attack still connects and any effect other than damage is still applied.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lbrennan85 wrote:
Thematically speaking your attack still connects and any effect other than damage is still applied.


Agreed. I think the logic behind it is similiar to the logic in most RPGs: An attack roll isn't a single blow, but represents multiple attacks made over a combat round, simultaneously with dodging, feinting, blocking and moving.

Mechanically, you're doing move 3, attack 1 and move 4, attack 1 poison, but in "reality", the character is unleashing multiple attacks at two opportunities during a move 7.

If you null the poison attack, it just means you nicked the opponent enough for the poison to take effect, but not enough to do actual harm, yet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.