Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Shooting Party» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about Rule 2 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Karen Robinson

Colorado
msg tools
mb
I assume that the matching Jack and King of the same suit may leave the room together whether or not the Queen is present, but the rule as written makes it sound like all three must be present before the Jack and King can leave.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JK
New Zealand
Katikati
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yup, you are correct. Rule 2 only applies if the Q and K are present (and perhaps the J), but the later rule about discarding two cards of the same suit will allow you to discard the K and J when the Q isn't there.

Cheers!
JK
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew
United States
Kansas City
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And by precedence of the etiquette rules, the Q and K leave together before you could use the J to pull the K away, correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JK
New Zealand
Katikati
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
aaj94 wrote:
And by precedence of the etiquette rules, the Q and K leave together before you could use the J to pull the K away, correct?


Not quite - the J provides an exception to rule 2. If there is no J of that suit then you are correct - you must discard any K and Q of the same suit. But if (and only if) the J of that suit is also present then you can keep the Q and discard the J and K instead.

This gives an incentive to hold on to a J. But if you end up with more than one then you must discard your whole hand and start over (rule 4) unless you can ditch one with his K first (rule 2). The whole dance between K, Q and J is designed to give a push-your-luck dynamic and hopefully set up some tense decisions...

Cheers, and thanks for your ongoing support of this wee game!
JK
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.