Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dragonfire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Command Presence rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I play this, it deals 1 martial and 1 colorless, and then allows another player to draw and play a card. The card that is played does not have to have an assist on it to be used against an encounter facing me right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
toeknee n
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, the chosen player can play any card; note that the chosen card cannot be played for its Assist ability.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kindt Dalzen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The non-Active Player gets to play a card as if they were the Active Player. The card can be directed against any target that would normally be valid for the player. So Location rules would still be in effect and the card does not count as an Assist.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Simpson
United States
Elkridge
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, I did not know that they could play a card as if the active player... Well done!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Holder
United States
Murrieta
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DoctaWho wrote:
Correct, the chosen player can play any card; note that the chosen card cannot be played for its Assist ability.


Why would you play an Assist card as the card you play if you've been given the Command Presence ability in the first place? Seems like a waste if you could do that since an assist can be played during another player's turn anyways.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J R
msg tools
Valindor wrote:
DoctaWho wrote:
Correct, the chosen player can play any card; note that the chosen card cannot be played for its Assist ability.


Why would you play an Assist card as the card you play if you've been given the Command Presence ability in the first place? Seems like a waste if you could do that since an assist can be played during another player's turn anyways.


You could run into a situation where you might need the A/A/1 from Cloud of Daggers but not need its Assist, or maybe the Rogue wants to do a skill check for Perception to gain a gold (still could just wait until their turn). Basically you could use a card that has an assist function but play it via Command presence to get its non assist ability, i.e. the damage it could provide if the assist isn't necessary. Another example is Hex. The warlock could play the non assist text effect (and apply Hex's Arcane damage) to negate the text effect of an encounter that attacks two characters, rather than play the Arcane/Colorless assist. There are a bunch of applications for playing a card using Command Presence rather than using the card's assist. Unless of course the card in question is Bless. Then that is pretty pointless lol.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Valindor wrote:
DoctaWho wrote:
Correct, the chosen player can play any card; note that the chosen card cannot be played for its Assist ability.


Why would you play an Assist card as the card you play if you've been given the Command Presence ability in the first place? Seems like a waste if you could do that since an assist can be played during another player's turn anyways.


Simple. Player in question has no cards in hand, draws Twist the Knife off the top with the free draw. It's the only card they have in hand and therefore they must play it, but they'd rather play it for its assist cost.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.