War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: 11 months of painting - WOTR miniatures & strongholds rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Antoine Kahn
France
flag msg tools
Dear all,

I am, at last, glad and proud to present you the painting work I did through this year ; from the 08/01/2017 until 08/12/2017.
I decided to share it to thank all people that helped me by showing their own work on forums/youtube, and I hope this would motivate other people to do so, though it was a long and hard journey.

As an introduction, please consider first that english is not my native speaking language, so do not take too much consideration about the mistakes I could have made by writing this post
At the beginning of this year, I decided to paint the miniatures of my WOTR 2nd edition boardgame. As a total beginner who never painted miniatures before I had to start from scratch and read and watch a lot of tutorials.
After searching on internet from basic material I should need, I went to a local distributor to get a set of paints for beginners from GW, an additional smallest paint brush I could find (GW layer S), then I customized a magnifying glass by holding it with a helping hand to have a better view of details. I also bought rapidly additional stuff like Nuln Oil wash from GW, some gray paint from Army Painter and of course some primer (2 cans of Citadel Chaos Black Spray). Additional paints were also purchased when they were required (gold and silver paints for instance).
This list could be useless at the end of all things, but believe me when
I started in january I was really looking at details, and maybe someone could find it usefull.

After material was purchased and motivation was at its highest point, I started my journey.

Shadow

My idea was simple ; as a beginner I will make mistakes. So let's begin with miniatures from Shadow armies ; if the first painted figs are ugly, it will be allright because Shadow units are ugly.