Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Battle for Rokugan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cleaning up combat tokens on defense rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Rodger
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
If I place a combat token to defend a province and it isn't attack, does it get discarded at the end of the turn? We presumed so, but when I looked through the book I didn't see anything that explicitly says so. Am I missing something?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tahsin Shamma
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
After a battle, all of the combat tokens involved in the battle
are discarded.


Even if a province was not attacked, it's considered "successfully defended " similar to a battle, so it's discarded.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Rodger
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Including getting a face up control token? Interesting.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tahsin Shamma
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
RARodger wrote:
Including getting a face up control token? Interesting.


Correct. Shore up your defense with those little one-sy, two-sy tokens.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Rodger
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
veector wrote:
RARodger wrote:
Including getting a face up control token? Interesting.


Correct. Shore up your defense with those little one-sy, two-sy tokens.

There's a lot of interesting trade offs in this game. Do you do a 1-attack and hope to get lucky? Of course, if they put down a defense all their future defense get a boost...

It's a smart little game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Jolly
United States
Santa Maria
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, all the combat tokens are removed after resolution. If you successfully defend, you get a +1 defense against future attacks (an extra control token, but face up, placed in that province).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Horsie Palamino
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rulebook P9:
A battle occurs when a clan’s combat token is in a province or on the border of a province that the clan does not control.
This implies battles do not trigger if no opponent has a token on the spot during the 'Resolve Battles' phase, which means no fortification bonuses are given out. Unless there's an errata, as there is no cleanup phase for Defending tokens if no battles occurred.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tahsin Shamma
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Palamino wrote:
Rulebook P9:
A battle occurs when a clan’s combat token is in a province or on the border of a province that the clan does not control.
This implies battles do not trigger if no opponent has a token on the spot during the 'Resolve Battles' phase, which means no fortification bonuses are given out. Unless there's an errata, as there is no cleanup phase for Defending tokens if no battles occurred.


Except for the clarification from the designer right above your post.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Horsie Palamino
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, he is the designer. That's cool. Good to know. On that note, since he didn't comment regarding the defenders fighting nobody, is it safe to assume that we can use 1's and 2's to defend against nothing to bolster your base?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Jolly
United States
Santa Maria
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Defenders with no attackers is described under “Successful Defense” on page 10. You can, indeed, pump up your defense by playing an Army-1 in a province that is not attacked.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.