Please consider this diagram
Do we have LOS between these hexes:
1) A-B - dunno
2) C-D - Leader and LN block LOS ?
3) E-B - LT and LN block LOS. If there are no units in hexes then do the town and the hill block loss?
After decades of ASL LOS is a little different than what I am used to.
I also miss the defensive fire phase. Specially during grand manoever and other multi hex moves units can march right in front of your guns without getting a chance to shoot at them.
A couple of rules questions:
4) Can you use bayonet charge to move infantry 2 hexes behind the front?
5) If an ordered unit starts the battle phase adjacent to an enemy unit must it melee?
6) In the diagram there is a square on the left. The cav is adjacent but in the woods
6a) Does the infantry attack with 1-1 = 0 dice?
6b) Does the cav attack with 1-2 = 0 dice?
6c) What happens in this situation?
- Last edited Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:56 pm (Total Number of Edits: 1)
- Posted Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:54 pm
Here's my take on your questions.
1: No LOS. The board edge blocks line of sight, as does the hill (as well as the LN in square).
2: No LOS. Both the leader and the LN block line of sight.
3: You are correct that both the hill and the town block line of sight, whether occupied or not.
4. Nothing stops you from just moving units using the Bayonet Charge card. They cannot engage in Ranged Fire, but they are free to move.
5. If the unit battles, then it must engage in melee combat if it remains adjacent to an enemy. It does not, however, have to engage in battle and it is free to move away from an adjacent enemy.
6. The British LN in square cannot attack the French HC (1 die attack -1 for woods = 0 dice). Same is true for the French HC attacking the square... no attack. As to "what happens," there's no combat, they just sit there. The tactic for the French would be to bring up an infantry or artillery unit and hit the square. The adjacent French LN numbered "4" should melee the square with 5 dice. The tactic for the British would be to drive the French HC away, so the British LN can then be taken out of square. You have a similar situation on the right. The French LC cannot attack the square on the hill (1 attack dice -1 for attacking uphill = 0).
Don't know if you are aware of this or not, but there's a dedicated website for Commands & Colors: Napoleonics. Lots of info there and some custom scenarios.
One final note. C&C:N is a whole 'nother critter than ASL. It's very playable and captures the feel of Napoleonic warfare. But it's not, and isn't meant to be, a grognard-level simulation.
- Last edited Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:23 pm (Total Number of Edits: 4)
- Posted Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:16 pm
just found LoS rules:
Verify that your target is within line of sight. A unit must be able to “see” the enemy unit it wants to fire at. This is known as having Line of Sight.
Imagine a line drawn from the center of the hex containing the firing unit to the center of the hex containing the target unit. This line of sight is blocked only if a hex between the battling unit and the target hex contains an obstruction. Obstructions include a unit or leader (regardless if friend or foe) or some terrain features and the side edge of the battlefield. The terrain in the target unit’s hex does not block line of sight. If the imaginary line runs along the edge of one or more hexes that contain obstructions, line of sight is not blocked unless the obstructions are on both
sides of the line.
Reference (see 3. Check Line of Sight paragraph)
Check LOS Rules wrote:
Obstructions include a unit or leader (regardless if friend or foe) or some terrain features and the side edge of the battlefield.
1) A-B, No LOS. The edge of the board and LN blocks.
2) C-D, No LOS. Leader and LN blocks.
3) E-B. Yes, the woods and town would still block LOS.
4) Bayonet Charge can be used to move infantry 2 hexes in any direction. That is, the infantry do not have to charge an enemy unit.
5) It could move away from the adjacent enemy unit, then fire instead. If there is an adjacent enemy unit, you can't fire, only melee.
6) 0 dice. Base of 1 for attacking a square -2 for attacking out of woods. Similarly the infantry can't affect the cavalry in the woods. The other situation you see is a cavalry on a hill attacking an infantry unit on lower ground. Cavalry are -1 attacking downhill, so can't affect a square until they ride downhill. In effect, no dice are rolled; the cavalry's only function is to keep the enemy unit in square so that it can be fired upon/meleed by other units. If I was the British player I wouldn't go into square with this LN, because the LC has only 2 blocks (2 dice) and is -2 dice attacking out of woods. He's also going to be meleed by the French LN, which will cause a lot of havoc if he's in square.
Thanks for all the answers.
wrt the square. It was formed in an earlier turn. Two cavalry swapped adjacency before the unit could come out of square.
wrt to the ASL comparison, I don't expect the games to be similar, far from it, I wouldn't wish the asl rule book on any other game. It is just that it will take a while to get used to the different style of play.
In CCN you can taunt the enemy from a three hex distance then play a bayonet charge or similar card,cross the open ground and get the first shot in (barring a first strike card). In ASL your troops would suffer heavy losses crossing the open ground, even as part of a human wave attack.
My previous Napoleonic's games have been the Kevin Zucker CNS series where you have to out manoeuver each other and battles are rare. Also good fun but is Napoleonic's on a different scale.
Read the rulebook, plan for all contingencies, and…read the rulebook again.
In CCN you can taunt the enemy from a three hex distance then play a bayonet charge or similar card, cross the open ground and get the first shot in (barring a first strike card). In ASL your troops would suffer heavy losses crossing the open ground, even as part of a human wave attack.
Yes, but you have to have the card ready when you want to do that. If you use a 'Bayonet Charge' to quickly advance and better position your infantry, you won't have it later to do the charge. Unless you're lucky enough to have another waiting in the wings. 'La Grande Maneuver' can allow a player to quickly move units right up to the enemy line—but the enemy's turn is coming next. The enemy could play Give 'Them the Cold Steel' or another multiple-orders card to try to throw them back. Ready cards and timing make the difference.
Of course, it's not unheard of for an enemy player to do the reverse: if you 'taunt' them from three hexes, they might pre-empt your assault with their own Bayonet or Cavalry charge first.