Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Dinosaur Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Green lab upgrades rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
The Waffler
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mb
There is the green lab tiles that say, when you buy them you do the ability once when you buy the tile, then no more. But does that mean I lose the green ability if I cover it up? The way it is worded sounds like I just activate it once and get the benefit, but don't lose it if I cover it up.

Here is a relevant post from the FAQ:
Quote:

Q: I don't understand lab upgrades with green text. Do they only trigger one time after purchase and then will be ignored for the rest of the game?
A: (From designers) The green text on certain lab tiles give a passive ability - it cannot be activated by placing a worker on it. The tile Groundskeeper shack has the green text "Increase your security level by 1 at no cost." - You do this once only, when you buy the tile. During the lab phase, you may activate its second ability "treat your security level as +1 for this round" by placing a worker on it.

The Break Room allows you to hire 1 additional specialist in the game. Other players will be able to hire 3, you may hire 4. (or 5 if you buy two Break Rooms)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Crenshaw
United States
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Thematic Colors of Gaming Blog
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah we are unclear on this too. But it clearly says you don't destroy old buildings. This has to be the reason why I think.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DrProfHazzmatt
United States
West Chester
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Riding the Kickstarter hype train since 2015.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That seems a poor design choice to cover up active rules text. I would think that placing a new upgrade on top of an older one would replace all effects of the old upgrade.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Lewis
United States
Bath
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
monorico wrote:
There is the green lab tiles that say, when you buy them you do the ability once when you buy the tile, then no more. But does that mean I lose the green ability if I cover it up? The way it is worded sounds like I just activate it once and get the benefit, but don't lose it if I cover it up.

Here is a relevant post from the FAQ:
Quote:

Q: I don't understand lab upgrades with green text. Do they only trigger one time after purchase and then will be ignored for the rest of the game?
A: (From designers) The green text on certain lab tiles give a passive ability - it cannot be activated by placing a worker on it. The tile Groundskeeper shack has the green text "Increase your security level by 1 at no cost." - You do this once only, when you buy the tile. During the lab phase, you may activate its second ability "treat your security level as +1 for this round" by placing a worker on it.

The Break Room allows you to hire 1 additional specialist in the game. Other players will be able to hire 3, you may hire 4. (or 5 if you buy two Break Rooms)


Any abilities gained from lab tiles are lost if they are covered up. In this case, if you covered up the Groundskeeper shack, you would lose the additional security.

The same thing happens if you fire a specialist - if you previously gained a worker from that specialist, when you fire the specialist, you must put the worker back in your reserves.

6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.