I don't remember what I ate last night
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
On or directly adjacent to your camp only requires 2 pawns
Hmm, in my opinion its: 2 pawns = auto success on camp tile and 3 pawns = auto success on directly adjacent tile.
Your opinion is incorrect.
p 28 of the rules states:
To win the game, players must build 1 Cross on each
of 5 different Island tiles. A Cross can be built on any
Island tile (not just the one containing the camp).
Depending on the distance to the camp, this might
require more than 1 (or 2) Action pawn(s). See the
rules for Gathering Resources and Exploration on
p 19 states
GATHERING RESOURCES & EXPLORING ON TILES NOT ADJACENT TO THE CAMP
To resolve the Gather or Explore Actions, players start on the tile
containing the camp. A tile or space adjacent to the camp always requires
1 or 2 Action pawns, with 1 Action pawn requiring a roll of the Action dice,
and 2 Action pawns meaning an automatic success. These rules also apply
on the Island tile containing the camp (e.g. for exploring special locations).
If the destination is not adjacent to the camp, additional Action pawns
are required. Each Island tile that is crossed on the way to the destination
adds 1 Action pawn to the total. Additionally, a fully explored path to the
destination tile is required. An Island tile or space that is an additional step
from the camp can be explored with 2 or 3 Action pawns (see illustration).
When placing 2 Action pawns, the Action dice must be rolled, while 3
Action pawns lead to an automatic success.