Follow-up question: if the Craigheart has the card that allows for an extra target on his ranged attacks active, how does it interact with area attacks? Page 22 of the rulebook, emphasis mine
ADD TARGET – If a figure triggers this effect with an attack action, the figure may add an
additional target within range to their attack. All added effects and conditions of the attack action
are applied to the target, as well, except for effects that would result in additional targets outside
of the original added target (e.g., area attacks).
You get an additional target within range X, where X is the range of the attack. The targeted enemy will naturally fall outside of the AOE, otherwise it would already be targeted. All other effects apply, except any that would add additional targets. I believe that in the case of the Cragheart's ability that causes damage to all hexes surrounding the target, that effect is replicated on the new target, since it isn't targeted.