Quoted from the Rulebook:
Some Borg Tech cards have a
Research cost and must be placed in
the player’s Project Area until they
have been completed.
Does that mean:
1) If you are at your project limit, you must either discard an in-progress project to start working on the Borg Tech or discard the Borg Tech if you choose not to discard an in progress Advancement OR
2) You can leave it in your project area and start working on it at a later time when you have an open project space OR
3) Since it says "must", you have to make room for it and begin working on it?