Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Mrs Thatcher's War: The Falklands, 1982» Forums » Rules

Subject: Supplied, or Unsupplied? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
In the logistics phase, Admiral Anaya maneuvers the two Argentine ships. Then, if any are at sea, you have to flip a stack of ground units on the island.

But then in the Task Force Phase of the next turn, if you commit two escorts, then all three stacks are supplied.

So...what does that mean? What is the effect of the Argentine ships cutting off supplies?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Madison
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Robert Leonhard wrote:
In the logistics phase, Admiral Anaya maneuvers the two Argentine ships. Then, if any are at sea, you have to flip a stack of ground units on the island.

But then in the Task Force Phase of the next turn, if you commit two escorts, then all three stacks are supplied.

So...what does that mean? What is the effect of the Argentine ships cutting off supplies?


Committing the escorts puts the ground units back in supply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan Nellen
Germany
Erkelenz
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Talossa wrote:
Committing the escorts puts the ground units back in supply.


During play testing and development phase, I played it slight differently:

If you have to flip an army stack in step [12/5] "Admiral Anaya" to its "Out of Supply" side, I kept it also flipped during the complete next turn until step [12/4] "Reset". In such a case, I could only commit a maximum of one single Escort to supply the two remaining unflipped stacks. That's for me part of meaningful decisions: Should I hunt and sink some Argentine Warships and get a lower BBC level or should I reprieve them with the possibility, that I have sometimes to drop my yomping speed caused by a flipped army stack.

Did I play it wrong?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Stefan--

Yes, this is a good question. Here is my issue: there are several supply incidents that impact the three stacks. In order of play, it goes like this:

(LAST TURN)
* Argentine ship(s) at sea cause one stack to become unsupplied.

(THIS TURN)
* 0 Escort = 1 stack supplied. (Can it be the one that's already unsupplied? Stefan says no.)

* 1 Escort = 2 stacks supplied.

* 2 Escorts = 3 stacks supplied. (Including the one previously unsupplied? Stefan says no.)

* If BBC <= 7, flip one supplied to unsupplied.

* If Air Turn and Brits control < 3 air sectors, flip one stack unsupplied.

It all seems clear to me except this issue of the Argentine ships at sea.

Is there a definitive ruling on this?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The reason I ask this is that both Ben Madison and Stefan were involved in developing this game. So I was wondering what the final word might be on this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan Nellen
Germany
Erkelenz
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Robert Leonhard wrote:
Stefan--

Yes, this is a good question. Here is my issue: there are several supply incidents that impact the three stacks. In order of play, it goes like this:

(LAST TURN)
* Argentine ship(s) at sea cause one stack to become unsupplied.

(THIS TURN)
* 0 Escort = 1 stack supplied. (Can it be the one that's already unsupplied? Stefan says no.)

* 1 Escort = 2 stacks supplied.

* 2 Escorts = 3 stacks supplied. (Including the one previously unsupplied? Stefan says no.)

* If BBC <= 7, flip one supplied to unsupplied.

* If Air Turn and Brits control < 3 air sectors, flip one stack unsupplied.

It all seems clear to me except this issue of the Argentine ships at sea.

Is there a definitive ruling on this?

Thanks!


I simply follow the rules in their given sequence as they stand. Only unflipped army stacks can be moved (see [11/5] "British Ground Movement"). The number of (unflipped) army stacks allowed to be moved depends on the number of Escorts sent earlier in step [6/3] "Supply Ground Forces". During step [6/3] "Supply Ground Forces" NO army stack will be flipped or unflipped. Flipping is only caused as you already identified (i.e. BBC <= 7, Air Turn and Brits control < 3 air sectors, Argentine ship(s) at sea). And army stacks are only unflipped within step [12/4] "Reset".


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, you made it clear for me. My misinterpretation was that in the Task Force phase, I was allowing my escorts sent to San Carlos to flip unsupplied stacks. But I see your point. Those escorts can supply stacks that are already face-up, but they CANNOT flip one face-down.

Excellent. Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Madison
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
ChrysagonDeLaCroix wrote:
I simply follow the rules in their given sequence as they stand. Only unflipped army stacks can be moved (see [11/5] "British Ground Movement"). The number of (unflipped) army stacks allowed to be moved depends on the number of Escorts sent earlier in step [6/3] "Supply Ground Forces". During step [6/3] "Supply Ground Forces" NO army stack will be flipped or unflipped. Flipping is only caused as you already identified (i.e. BBC <= 7, Air Turn and Brits control < 3 air sectors, Argentine ship(s) at sea). And army stacks are only unflipped within step [12/4] "Reset".


Your description does actually make more sense than mine. There's no actual rules contradiction here that you see, is there?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan Nellen
Germany
Erkelenz
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Talossa wrote:
There's no actual rules contradiction here that you see, is there?


I do not see any rules contradiction. At least for me, everything is fine cool
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
True. The problem for me was my own misinterpretation. As Stefan said, if you just follow the sequence AND don't assume that escorts in San Carlos can flip stacks, no problem. Thanks, guys. I LOVE this game!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.