Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Enemy AI - Shield and Retaliate rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dr. Funktastic

Antarctica
msg tools
Avatar
If an enemy's Action Card has keywords Shield 1 and Retaliate 2, but their initiative occurs LATER than a character attacking the enemy, do the Shield and Retaliate keywords apply?

Further, does Retaliate still trigger if attacked from range?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say that the keywords haven't triggered yet.

I believe that the the enemy would still retaliate against a ranged attack, assuming that the keyword has triggered ... see above.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
al Cann
United States
Warwick
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
No ... the card doesn't trigger until after the enemy goes in initiative order.

No ... unless it is a retaliate with range.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trond Roaas
Norway
Kongsberg
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
No.
The FAQ wrote:
If a monster has bonuses like "Shield" or "Retaliate" on their ability card, is that active for the whole round?
No, bonuses only become active once the monster takes their turn based on the initiative on the ability card. It then lasts until the end of the round, where it will either get shuffled back into the deck or replaced with the next round's ability card.


No. Only if sufficient range is specified.
The rule book, page 26 wrote:
A “Retaliate X” bonus ability causes the recipient to inflict X points of damage on figures who attack it from an adjacent hex for each attack made. A retaliate bonus can also be accompanied by a “Range Y” value, which means that the retaliate damage is applied to any attacker within Y hexes.

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.