Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game – The Force Awakens Core Set» Forums » General

Subject: Which Expansion?? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bianca Summers
United States
Woodinville
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
My husband and I own the Force awakens set. We just played it for the first time the other day and had a blast. I wanted to get my husband some of the expansions so we could have bigger armies. Which ones would you recommend?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Cleverley
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm quite new to X Wing myself so while I can't speak from experience, I've asked similar questions myself and here's what I've been recommended:

Original Core Set
I actually own one FA set and one of the original core sets. Okay you are only getting another X Wing and Tie's (not a bad thing!) but you're getting different cards, pilots etc. Plus who can knock an additional set of markers and tokens? That being said, I hear the FA set has the "better" damage deck so I've been advised to use that one over the original.

Rebel/Imperial Aces Packs
You get a couple of ships in each of these packs to expand your forces. I've seen them on sale from time to time but don't appear to be readily available.

If you start there that should give you a decent selection for casual play. I'm sure some X Wings experts can advise further!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cracky McCracken
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you look closely, expansions that are set in the current "Force Awakens" trilogy have a blue logo on the box. Most of the expansions have a red logo.

So, there are only a few expansions set in the current movies so far. The Falcon, Po's Xwing, FO special forces TIE fighter.....

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave C
United States
flag msg tools
You Greeks are always children!
badge
Jean Gabin in La Grande Illusion
mbmbmbmbmb