GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,939 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
21 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Captains of the Golden Age» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attack rules. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rob van Hooijdonk
Netherlands
flag msg tools
There was some discussion during last night's game about the following situation:
I arrive on a sea-tile already containing another ship.
I decide NOT to attack.
The other player, however, decides to attack me.
He turns his captain's card, I do not. The attack is played out.

The question:
Can I now still decide to attack him? Even when I initially decided NOT to attack?

My captain's card is still unused, right side up. This would mean I am still able to attack.
Or am I bound by my initial decision to not attack?
I personally think I can still attack, since my captain is rested and the spirit of the game is not one where you are bound by "promises".
But, as I said: there was some discussion last night about this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lunadips Sixsmtih
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
While this is not specifically stated in the rules (at least not in the English version of the rules) it is in keeping with the gameplay. So we play that you can Attack even if you initially decided not to attack. The person that attacked you is now at risk of a counter attack. This adds to the strategy in gameplay and I'm sure was the intent of the designers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niek Jansma
Netherlands
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
thats exactly how it is meant to be played.


Niek Jansma
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pat Nas
Netherlands
Middelburg
Zeeland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As this is not stated in the rules, you should make a FAQ or Errata sheet
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.