Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Galaxy Trucker» Forums » Rules

Subject: Defeating an enemy, but can't claim cargo (no space), still lose a day? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ben dubby
msg tools
Hello,
I'm new to galaxy trucker and so am reading the rules. If you defeat an enemy, but have not space to claim the cargo, do you still lose the number of days on the bottom right of the card? Also, do you have a CHOICE whether to take the cargo, or are you forced to take it?

The rules say:

"The leader counts the strength of his or her ship (paying for
any double cannons used). If this strength is greater than the
enemy’s, the player wins and claims the reward. This costs
a certain number of flight days specified in the lower right
corner."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Shader
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe so.

If it helps, think of it as time wasted from...

-The length of the fight in your EPIC SPACE PIRATE BATTLE!

-The difficulty of navigating through SO MUCH DEBRIS!

-The amount of time wasted throwing a celebration and gloating as you go through valuable cargo and then pitch it into the void, getting on your CB and taunting other truckers behind you. "Oh. No! ANOTHER case of MEGA DIAMONDS! I already have so maaaannnny. Does anyone want these? No? Oh well, off to the void with you."


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thornsen
United States
Nottingham
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I’m pretty sure you only lose flight days if you take the reward.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafał Wątorski
Poland
Kraków
flag msg tools
Do you wanna play a game?
badge
We are all prisoners inside the cage of our own flesh.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You spent some time fighting the pirates, so you lose flight days regardless what you did with the reward.

Similar case with planets:
Rulebook, p.7, Planets wrote:
It is legal to land just to take the opportunity away from other
players, even if you can’t take any of the goods (but be sure it
is worth the loss of flight days).


edit: My mistake, I was wrong.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walker Aumann
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
raphaell7 wrote:
You spent some time fighting the pirates, so you lose flight days regardless what you did with the reward.

Similar case with planets:
Rulebook, p.7, Planets wrote:
It is legal to land just to take the opportunity away from other
players, even if you can’t take any of the goods (but be sure it
is worth the loss of flight days).


Planets are different. You are choosing to stop at the planet. With pirates, you don't have a choice on whether or not to fight them. Also, assuming you aren't in the lead, one or more other players have fought the pirates and lost, and they aren't losing days.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Elena Litovka
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Faranim wrote:
I’m pretty sure you only lose flight days if you take the reward.

This is correct.

P.13 of the original rules: "If you don’t want to lose flight days, you can choose not to take the credits (or goods in the case of Smugglers) and leave your ship where it is. Either way, no other player may collect the reward once the enemy has been defeated."
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Team Ski
United States
Dover
Delaware
flag msg tools
badge
CHOMP!!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alienka wrote:
Faranim wrote:
I’m pretty sure you only lose flight days if you take the reward.

This is correct.

P.13 of the original rules: "If you don’t want to lose flight days, you can choose not to take the credits (or goods in the case of Smugglers) and leave your ship where it is. Either way, no other player may collect the reward once the enemy has been defeated."


Concur!

-Ski
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell White
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just as another point in favor of only losing days if you take the reward, that's how the official app works. As far as I know it has all rules correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.