Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dinosaur Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Computer Programmer Specialist and Wild Dice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony B
United States
West Hartford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Computer Programmer allows you to gain the same type and number of DNA, once per round, when another player assigns a scientist to research DNA.

If the player being copied utilizes a Wild DNA die, must the owner of the Computer Programmer take the same DNA chosen by the Scientist or may the owner utilize the wild die to take the DNA of choice?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Bartlett
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thematically, and based on the rules talking about "DNA" and not "Dice," I would suggest that Nedry- er, I mean, the Programmer, has to take the same DNA that is researched. After all, he can only steal what the scientist actually achieves, right?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Lewis
United States
Bath
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cc_TheToph wrote:
Thematically, and based on the rules talking about "DNA" and not "Dice," I would suggest that Nedry- er, I mean, the Programmer, has to take the same DNA that is researched. After all, he can only steal what the scientist actually achieves, right?


Correct, the computer programmer must take exactly what the other player took.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Hedgren
United States
Dublin
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What if I use a level 3 scientist on a single DNA die, but can only hold 1 or 2? Does the programmer get 3, or just waht I took?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Cyr
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
boomtron wrote:
What if I use a level 3 scientist on a single DNA die, but can only hold 1 or 2? Does the programmer get 3, or just waht I took?

Sorry for bumping this old post, but I haven't seen an answer to this question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Cyr
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mikecyr wrote:
boomtron wrote:
What if I use a level 3 scientist on a single DNA die, but can only hold 1 or 2? Does the programmer get 3, or just waht I took?

Sorry for bumping this old post, but I haven't seen an answer to this question.

Actually, thinking about it more, given the way the wild DNA work, it seems like the answer must be that you only get what the other player took. Otherwise, how would you handle a case like a player getting 3 wild DNA but, despite it being wild, he only has space in his cold storage for 2. If the player with the Computer Programmer still got 3, how would you determine which 3?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremiah
Japan
Okazaki
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mikecyr wrote:
boomtron wrote:
What if I use a level 3 scientist on a single DNA die, but can only hold 1 or 2? Does the programmer get 3, or just waht I took?

Sorry for bumping this old post, but I haven't seen an answer to this question.


See Brian’s answer above. The programmer takes exactly what the other player took. If you can only take 2 DNA the programmer can only copy 2 DNA.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.