Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Charterstone» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assistant and Order of Resolution [Possible Minor Spoilers] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony B
United States
West Hartford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The Maestro Assistant earns you 1 reputation when you use the Grandstand


If a player has 2 influence on the reputation track, and wishes to use the Grandstand to complete an objective requiring 3 influence on the reputation track, may the player place his worker on the Grandstand space to complete that objective even though he only has 2 influence on the reputation track...
Spoiler (click to reveal)
and claim that the Maestro gave him the 3rd reputation required to complete the objective?


It seems to me that this is a question of order or resolution. I would think that the worker could not be placed in the first place if the player was not able to complete the objective at the time the worker was placed but the player claimed otherwise.

Was this a legal play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Ward
United States
Newport News
VA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Assistants trigger after the use of the building. When you go to the building, you have to be able to perform its effect, or you can't go there. So no, that player would have to get another rep before grandstanding about rep.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dale Lawver
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Go check the FAQ at Stonemeier, assistants are first not last
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xarinth wrote:
Go check the FAQ at Stonemeier, assistants are first not last

Incorrect. There is no mention of Assistants in the FAQ.

The wording on the Assistants is "when {inset building} is used, gain {benefit}", which implies that you get the benefit after the effect of the building is resolved.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
You may have confused Minions and Assistants, which are two separate things. Minions trigger first (they have when placed wording), Assistants trigger afterwards (they have when used wording).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dale Lawver
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Yep I misread due to the late hour
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.