Re: Obvious, but I cannot fine the rule.
Another point (I am playing through in advance of being the 'rules explainer' at Christmas).
Am I correct that in an 8 person game - there will ALWAYS be three things after the first assimilation? This would seem to be a game bug.
There are 8 players. There are 8 cards in the blood sample deck.
Thus ALL the cards are issued - and all the infected cards go out. I guess there is a 1/8 possibility that the infected card will go to the infected player - but that seems pretty slim odds.
The only way I can think of around this is to hand out the blood sample cards one at a time. Which I am dubious will work with a large group...
But otherwise - once the second sector is entered - its 7/8 you have three things. And if you get lucky the first time its 3/4 the second time.
Am I interpreting this all correctly?