Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

18CZ» Forums » Rules

Subject: Emergency Finance rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
marc magner
United States
webster
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules are clear that you can not purchase a train after Emergency Financing, however are you allowed to purchase a train, immediately before you Emergency Finance?

Example, Can a large Co buy a "Red" train and then Emergency Finance its required "Green" train?

We assumed so, but the post Finance rules give us a concern that the intent of the rule is that a company can only purchase 1 train on the turn it Finances a train.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonhard Orgler
Austria
Wiener Neudorf
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
easterly1 wrote:

Example, Can a large Co buy a "Red" train and then Emergency Finance its required "Green" train?


Yes, it can.
The "Red" train must be paid by company assets only.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marc magner
United States
webster
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks, that's what we assumed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Bradley
United States
Belleville
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
easterly1 wrote:
The rules are clear that you can not purchase a train after Emergency Financing,...


That is not what the rules state. The rules say: "The Director may not buy a further train for the company with his private money or put more money than needed for that train into the company. The company must not have a single K left after the purchase."

You can, however unlikely, purchase another train using company funds. How so since after emergency financing the company would have zero funds? Well, the emergency financing rules do not require you to sell local railways into the bank, so, in theory, you could use company funds to buy a train it couldn't run, then emergency finance a train you can run, then sell some local railways to the bank funding a 3rd train purchase!

Whether any of that can be turned into a viable strategy is beyond me but it seems legal.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marc magner
United States
webster
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spacehulk wrote:
easterly1 wrote:
The rules are clear that you can not purchase a train after Emergency Financing,...


That is not what the rules state. The rules say: "The Director may not buy a further train for the company with his private money or put more money than needed for that train into the company. The company must not have a single K left after the purchase."

You can, however unlikely, purchase another train using company funds. How so since after emergency financing the company would have zero funds? Well, the emergency financing rules do not require you to sell local railways into the bank, so, in theory, you could use company funds to buy a train it couldn't run, then emergency finance a train you can run, then sell some local railways to the bank funding a 3rd train purchase!

Whether any of that can be turned into a viable strategy is beyond me but it seems legal.



i don't believe this to be the question we were asking and this is long after the designer clarified the rule, but yup that appears to be within the procedures Lonny codified.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.