Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Disarmed Archer rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Likos
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Will an enemy archer who has been disarmed, still retreat to avoid disadvantage if adjacent to a character?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trond Roaas
Norway
Kongsberg
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
No. The archer will not try to attack ranged, and will therefore not have any disadvantage to lose. As the archer does not have any attack, he/she will move as if he/she had a melee attack.

The rule book, page 30 wrote:
If a monster has a move but no attack afterward as part of its ability card, it will use its movement to get as close as possible to its focused target (determined as if it had a melee attack), moving along the shortest possible path to enter a hex adjacent to its focused enemy.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Esther Pettigrew
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
Trondster wrote:
No. The archer will not try to attack ranged, and will therefore not have any disadvantage to lose. As the archer does not have any attack, he/she will move as if he/she had a melee attack.

The rule book, page 30 wrote:
If a monster has a move but no attack afterward as part of its ability card, it will use its movement to get as close as possible to its focused target (determined as if it had a melee attack), moving along the shortest possible path to enter a hex adjacent to its focused enemy.

I remember reading that. Does the monster then do a melee attack or just offer itself up for target practice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trond Roaas
Norway
Kongsberg
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
estherp wrote:

I remember reading that. Does the monster then do a melee attack or just offer itself up for target practice?

Since it's not attacking - the latter.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.