Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Austerlitz 1805: Rising Eagles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cavalry reaction against advance after combat ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There seems to be nothing in the rules enabling cavalry to react against enemy units becoming adjacent following advance after combat.

Could they not countercharge cavalry or retreat before combat similar to when infantry advance adjacent to cavalry during movement ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Norman Smith
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In 40 years of gaming, I have never seen a system that allows a counter-action against a unit that is advancing after combat. There are a myriad of reasons why this should not be allowed, but not least I think, is that a successful attacker should not have to face a double jeopardy.


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
walter vejdo
France
paris
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello
Agree with Norman.
This is not considered normal movement and represent an "impetus" bonus to the victorious attackers.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bertrand d
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
waltervejdo wrote:
Hello
Agree with Norman.
This is not considered normal movement and represent an "impetus" bonus to the victorious attackers.


The Eagle system gives several disadvantages to cavalry starting an activation phase adjacent to an enemy, even more with all the added cavalry rules. It is counterbalanced by several rules, which allow cavalry to reposition or countercharge.

So not allowing some reaction to cavalry after advance after combat creates also a special pattern of positioning. Cavalry must either stay two hex away from the frontline or be part of the frontline for reaction charge.


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Sterner
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I don't even see the advance after combat as an "impetus' concept. During combat, the attacker theoretically enters the defender's hex to engage. If and when the defender retreats, the attacker simply remains in the defender's hex. No real "advance" at all.

And that would be the danger of cavalry positioned behind a defensive line. They would not have an opening to attack prior to the defender's retreat, and if they do then the attacker is there already upon them. Where the defender was.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.