Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Fire in the East» Forums » Rules

Subject: DNO Surprise Rules rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter Garnett
United Kingdom
London
UK Mainland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From memory DNO had a rule to simulate the confusion in the russian motorised / armoured units on the first turn or two.

Something like after all movement is complete roll for each c/m unit and on a 5 or 6 it had to move one hex in a random direction even if that meant having to attack. Then on turn two it was on a roll of a 6.

As a solo player I liked the rule.

Does anyone have the full text for it please?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom McCafferty
United Kingdom
Dunfermline
flag msg tools
It's quite wordy, but here goes. I'll try not to make too many typos.

Rule 27 - Russian Unpreparedness

At the time of the German invasion, the Red Army had not fully recovered from a purge of its officer corps, was struggling with a complete reorganisation of its mechanised forces, and was handicapped by orders not to provoke German aggression by any warlike activity (including even the simplest of defensive precautions). Consequently, for the first month of the campaign, the Red Army was almost incapable of functioning in a coordinated fashion. To simulate this situation, the fllowing procedures are used:

At the end of the Russian player's ground movement phase in the first urn (June II 41), the Russian rolls the die once for each hex containing Soviet units that have moved in the phase. To keep track of moving units, invert them at the completion of their movement. If a 1 or 2 is rolled, units in the hex are affected. The Russian then roles the die again for each unit in each affected hex (including units in the hex that have not moved). The second die-roll will determine the direction in which that unit will be moved an additional single hex. Displaced units at moved that one hex in the direction indicated in the sketch to the right.

[The sketch is of a hex and six surrounding hexes. The numbers in the 6 surrounding hexes are clockwise from 1 north west, 2 north east, 3 east, 4 south east, 5 south west and 6 west]

If such a movement carries the scattering unit directly into a hex containing enemy units, the Russian unit must immediately execute an attack against the unit or units it has landed on. For the purposes of these attacks, ignore all modifications to combat strengths and the die-roll due to terrain, armor effects, etc.; simply use the printed strength of the units involved and resolve combat. Implement combat results immediately. If the odds of the Soviet attacks are less than 1:3, the Russian attacking unit is destroyed. Ant CRT result other than a complete elimination of either the Russian or Axis units results in the Russian unit everting to the hex it was in prior to being displaced.

If such movement would carry a Russian unit into prohibited terrain, such as full sea hexes, across lake hex sides, etc., the unit must roll again until it can either move or attack, If the movement would cause it to land on a stack of Russian units such that the displaced unit would cause overstacking, roll again until the unit can either move or attack.

Units ending their move on a rail line are not affected by this rule; that is they need not roll to determine whether or not they are displaced. Units in weather zone A are not affected by this rule.

During the exploitation phase of the first turn, and during both phases of the second turn of the game, the same procedure is followed, but only a die-roll of 1 displaces units in a hex.

END

enjoy,
cheers,
Tom
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.