Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Curse of the Monkey God with Shield rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aron Viszloi
msg tools
Dear Descent Fans,

I have some question about the Curse of the Monkey God overlord card.

I'll go straight to the subject, so, if the curse was succeed and the current monkey hero has been attacked, can he use his shield or not?


Curse of the Monkey God says: Monkeys cannot roll defense dice (except to test an attribute), have a Speed of 5, and cannot attack for any reason.

For e.g.: Wooden Shield says:
Exhaust this card after rolling defense dice to add 1 to the results.

How should we defined the „after rolling defense” concept?
Can he use his shield because it’s only a time period definition or not because his doesn’t rolled any of his dices?

Thank you for your answers!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The monkey is intelligent enough to use his shield. The "after rolling defense dice" just specifies that this ability can only be used in step 2 of the attack after attack and defense dice are usually rolled simultaneously. Although the monkey cannot roll defense dice, the timing trigger for the shield is still valid.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.