Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Sid Meier's Civilization: A New Dawn» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat timing , tokens and diplomacy cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ANDRES PALACIOS
Peru
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Yesterday was the first time we played this game.
It was great! We had a lot of fun, but we had some doubts about the combat.
More specifically, concerning the timing of the combat itself.

1. When can the trade tokens be used in combat? I think that the rulebook states that they are used after rolling. Wouldn't it be best to pick how many tokens on both sides and then roll the dice?
2. Same case with diplomacy cards. Should they be used after rolling? Are they used at the same time that tokens are used?
3. Can two diplomacy cards be used in for the same attack? For example, if one player attacks another and the defender has two defensive pact from thr other two players. Can he use both cards to defend himself from the same attack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark selleck
Australia
Alice Springs
NT
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
andpal21 wrote:
Yesterday was the first time we played this game.
It was great! We had a lot of fun, but we had some doubts about the combat.
More specifically, concerning the timing of the combat itself.

1. When can the trade tokens be used in combat? I think that the rulebook states that they are used after rolling. Wouldn't it be best to pick how many tokens on both sides and then roll the dice?
2. Same case with diplomacy cards. Should they be used after rolling? Are they used at the same time that tokens are used?
3. Can two diplomacy cards be used in for the same attack? For example, if one player attacks another and the defender has two defensive pact from thr other two players. Can he use both cards to defend himself from the same attack?


1. As per performing an attack on page 16, trade tokens are used after both sides have rolled. You can always house rule it but that's how they are spent in the official rules

2. You roll your dice and add your card bonuses to the roll, trade tokens are added after doing this

3. Yep, you can have one diplomacy card from each player so if they are the cards you picked from each player each one gives you that bonus
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A P
United States
Redwood City
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Trade tokens are only used after you know what the results are.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Fisher
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Melric wrote:
Trade tokens are only used after you know what the results are.


More specifically, as per page 12, the attacker spends first followed by the defender.

“After determining combat values, the attacker can spend trade tokens from his or her military card. Then, the defender can spend trade tokens from his or her own military card.”
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ANDRES PALACIOS
Peru
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thank you.
One more question.

¿Do you know if diplomacy cards are discarted after being used? ¿Or are they pasive bonus awarded to the player?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You keep Diplomacy cards until you lose them (I can't remember how right now)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark selleck
Australia
Alice Springs
NT
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
andpal21 wrote:
Thank you.
One more question.

¿Do you know if diplomacy cards are discarted after being used? ¿Or are they pasive bonus awarded to the player?


The rules only tell you to return a diplomacy card if you take another diplomacy card from the same player or if you attack a player or city state you hold a card from.

The cards represent on going alliances that can only end from re negotiating (taking another card from the player) or going to war with that player (attacking their city or control token)

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.