Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

War in the Pacific (first edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Air to Air combat result rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Clay Stone
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
I just want to bounce this off of someone to see if I'm doing this correctly.

I'm doing a strike on a ship and so I brought in (5) Zero Air Points as loose escorts against the Allies (3) F4F Cover Cap. My Zeros went first and scored a 7/4 combat result on the F4F. Now here is where im somewhat confused.

1. For the 7 result which represents 7 combat air strength that need to abort, do I abort (2) of the F4F Air Points which has a total strength value of 10 or just one air point which has a value strength of 5? Each air point combat strength is valued at 5.

2. For the second part of the combat result which was a (4), do I get to ignore that result since its less than my 5 combat strength?


The way I handle this combat was first I aborted (2) of the three air points to satisfy the (7) result. As for the (4) result to eliminate (4) combat strength I ignored based on what I believe the rule states to do.


Thanks

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Shumpert
msg tools
I read it to say that you would just abort one of the F4F and you would eliminate nothing.

To be forced to abort 2 F4F (5 strength each) the Zeros would need to have caused 10-14 damage. At 15-19 damage, 3 F4F's would be forced to abort, and so forth...

In this case, you would abort 5 points of F4F (just 1) and ignore the other 2 points.

As far as eliminating, 4 is less than 5, so there would be no losses to the F4F's. Same method as above.

Rulse 7.31, second paragraph explains this, as I read it.

If I understand your question correctly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clay Stone
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Rustere wrote:
I read it to say that you would just abort one of the F4F and you would eliminate nothing.

To be forced to abort 2 F4F (5 strength each) the Zeros would need to have caused 10-14 damage. At 15-19 damage, 3 F4F's would be forced to abort, and so forth...

In this case, you would abort 5 points of F4F (just 1) and ignore the other 2 points.

As far as eliminating, 4 is less than 5, so there would be no losses to the F4F's. Same method as above.

Rulse 7.31, second paragraph explains this, as I read it.

If I understand your question correctly.


Thanks Craig.

...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.